Claire
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
2 min readOct 18, 2021

--

Krygier and Wood define a map by saying that “maps are propositions… in graphic form”. Maps are an affirmation for wanderers, they explain, showing them over and over again that “this is there”. One can map the world in endless ways, from infinite perspectives. Maps represent possibility.

Growing up, my mom taught me about the inequality of wealth and resources in the North and South/West sides of Chicago, so hearing and viewing the maps in the Folded Maps project was a reminder of this rather than new news. Despite already knowing about this problem, it was still shocking to see the address pairs in Chicago- there was no mistaking the stark contrasts between the houses on the North side and houses on the South side. Using the example of 6720 North and South Ashland- the house on the North side has a clean lattice wood paneling, while the house on the South side has bars over the window and door. We make maps for many reasons. The inequality between the North and South sides of Chicago is a result of making maps to promote and continue systemic segregation. Maps hold a lot of power- they can be very damaging if used to separate and discriminate. It’s crucial to make maps with the intention of inclusivity and kindness. When we make maps, we shape the world. (225)

park

For my walk this week, I stepped out with a purpose- to find my theme for the final project. I wanted to let the walk help me decide what this would be. I travelled through busy streets and quiet blocks with beautiful brownstones until I ended up at Oz Park. I strolled through the park, taking everything in. There were so many people, groups of twos and tens alike and some people by themselves as well. Everyone was doing their own thing- some were talking quietly to each other, some playing with their dog or kids, and others dozing, but everyone was connected through sharing the space on the same sunny and breezy afternoon. Oz Park supports walkability and social capital in Chicago. My walk made me think back to one of week fives prompts about walkability. I briefly wrote about the difference in the amount of walkability between my childhood neighborhood of Albany Park as opposed to the neighborhood next to it. This is something I want to explore further. I’m thinking of doing my final project on comparing the walkability of Albany Park to Ravenswood Manor/ Lincoln Square Ravenswood, the neighborhoods next to Albany Park that I have walked to many times throughout my life.(203)

--

--