Movie Night

Danny Wright
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
5 min readOct 9, 2021

Walking Journal

My walk began outside my dorm, Seton Hall. It was a cool night on October 7th at around 6:00 PM. I was meeting up with some friends of mine to see a movie at 7:00, we decided to meet up on the quad. I walked across Fullerton to the Whole Foods and then I turned right across Sheffield. I met up with my friends on a bench towards the front of university hall, we wanted to get snacks before the movie because movie theater food is always expensive. We started to walk towards the 7–11 which was by the theatre. We cut through the quad and headed south on Seminary Ave then after a block we took a right onto Webster Ave. On our way there I saw an alley way with a dumpster that matched one of my paint chips perfectly. My color was chatty cricket green. It had that generic dumpster smell, so I did not want to get too close.

We continued walking on Webster Ave until we reached an intersection with an animal hospital across the street, we turned left down Southport Avenue and the 7–11 was right there. We walked into the 7–11 and I instantly saw these Lemon Crème sandwich cookies that matched my other paint chip. My other color was Dusty Yellow. The cookies looked delicious, but I wanted to save my money and buy something else. I walked toward the back of the store where the drinks were and a saw a huge 2-liter Sprite bottle that closely resembled my green paint chip. I was very thirsty, but it would have been difficult to sneak a gigantic bottle of Sprite into a movie theater. I ended up buying a small Twix bar and some skittles.

My friends and I headed down Southport Ave then took a right at the next intersection up Clybourn Ave, the Regal Cinema was just to the left. We went to see a French horror movie called “Lamb,” I enjoyed the film. At times it was boring, but the scares made up for it; I would highly recommend it. My favorite part of the theater was the reclining chairs, I felt like I could fall asleep, take a long nap. As we left the theater, it was about 9:00 PM and none of us had eaten dinner yet. There was a pizza place just across the street from the theater called “Pequod’s Pizza,” so we all decided to go eat there. We walked into the restaurant, the waiter told us it would be a 15-minute wait, so we sat on some benches right outside. As we were sitting on the bench waiting to get a table, I looked up and saw a digital sign saying “VISIT PEQUODSPIZZA.COM TO ORDER ONLINE” in bright green letters. The color matched my paint chip very closely so a snapped a photo.

Right as a took the photo, it started pouring rain. Thankfully, we were all sitting under the awning, so we never got wet. The waiter guided us to our tables, and we all ordered a large deep dish cheese pizza to share. It took us about an hour to finish, but we managed to pull through, walking out with our stomachs aching. It was around 10:40 PM, the rain had cleared up and the streets were empty. We headed east on Webster Ave, back towards the quad. As we were walking back, I looked over at a parking meter and I saw a tiny plastic baby sitting on top. I thought it was so strange how that baby got there, it also happened to match my paint chip. I took a picture and we continued to walk taking a left onto Seminary Avenue.

We headed back to the quad where we said our goodbyes. It was getting late; we were all very tired and stuffed from the pizza. I walked back to seton hall heading east on Fullerton then turning left onto Sheffield. After walking up my dorm stairs to go to bed, I peeked into the lounge and saw a backpack the same color as my paint chip. I exhaustingly shuffled into the lounge and told the guy who owned the backpack about this assignment, he was very chill with me talking a picture. Afterwards I left the lounge, headed back to my room, and went to bed. I enjoyed this week’s walk, it made me pay attention to colors and things I would have never noticed otherwise.

Map of Walk

Reading Journal

After reading Malchik in March I learned that a social capital is feeling neighborliness. It is everyday crucial acts that people need for a suitable quality of life. For example, hugging, greeting neighbors, or walking to work are all things humans crave which is why we should walk more often. My community’s public infrastructure and places make the city more walkable by adding crosswalks, parks, and big sidewalks. In Chicago I have noticed there are a lot of parks for people to socialize, be physically active, and be close to nature. I think most communities need some sort of park to increase their social capital. The more walkable a city is, the more amount of social capital comes into view. I think Chicago is very walkable with a high social capital, I could walk out onto the quad or anywhere on campus and see at least 3 people I know. In the city almost every minute someone is saying hello to you. (162)

--

--