Nuke in The Loop

  • Jewelers Row
  • Jewelry shops
  • Diamond Necklaces
  • Diamond Rings and earrings
  • The Art Institute
  • Trump Tower
  • The Chicago River
  • Tourist Boats
  • I heard a bunch of conversations while on the street and river walk
  • Tour Busses
  • Chipotle

While I was walking over the Wabash Street Bridge, I had a couple come up to me and ask me for directions. That was strange for me because being new to Chicago I would think that would be a bad idea. They were asking for directions to the nearest L stop. I told them to just go straight to Adams and Wabash. This made me feel like a local even though I would not say I am one.

Finally at the end of my walk I was wandering around and felt lost even thought I knew exactly where I was. I was becoming hangry, and was searching for food. I did not want to look on apple maps because that would make me feel like a tourist. I was walking up to Grand, the red line stop, and I saw a Chipotle. See, I am not a die hard Chipotle fan, but with how hungry I was in that moment I would have died for Chipotle; up until my stomach was hurting from scarfing down that bowl, I was a die hard Chipotle fan.

I only saved one thing from this walk, simply because as I was walking through the Loop I really was struggling to find things appealing enough to pick up and take home with me. I did grab and take the receipt from my battle with the Chipotle bowl I ate. It is a simple flimsy piece of paper but it reminds me to not be over ambitious with the food I eat.

Map of walk
Picture of the L tracks, something thats always fascinated me
Picture of the buildings not sure the exact ones

How have I experienced the anonymity, variety, and conjunction of Chicago while walking? First since walking Chicago I have experienced so much, from the Loop to Humboldt park each and every street is its own community. So with each turn you take while you walk, you are immersed in a new environment. With each person you see walking past, there is a sense of anonymity because you do not know the person you are looking at and they do not know you. You are total and complete strangers. Furthermore, if you were to go up to the person with good intent and introduce yourself they are more than likely going to be respectful and nice to you back. That’s where the conjunction of Chicago comes in place, while walking through the city become part of the community of walkers commuting. Stopping and asking for walking instructions is not out of the ordinary. Everyone has one goal in mind and that is to make it to point B, or their destination, and you are in conjunction with them in that goal while walking. (182)

--

--