One Straight Lined Walk

I stepped out onto Clifton and turned left to get on Fullerton, and the very first thing I notice is how nice the weather is out today. I honestly could have worn shorts and a tee shirt and have been more than comfortable. I look down and I see leaves all around me but one in particular stands out because it directly matches my paint chip. The leave looks very very dead and brittle and seems like it will dissolve into dust if you were to try and pick it up.

the leaf in question

I continued down Fullerton following the colors I had chosen noticing that parts of bark on the trees matches the brown or how the sky basically directly matches the blue I had chosen. The street seemed extra loud today I can hear a car honk every couple minutes or sometimes two cars will get in a honking match basically and just continuously honk at each other. I am basically right in front of the Ion apartments now and theres a very nice BMW parked outside and the blue trim on the grill matches the blue swatch I have when the light is hitting it. It doesn't directly match but if you look with the light you will see it. It is in the corner its curving and you can see how it matches the paint chip in that spot.

BMW

I went even more down Fullerton still in front of the Ion apartment and I am looking down at my feet as I was walking, something I shouldn't be doing, but I came across one mask on the ground. The mask is worn out and looks like its been worn and has sat on the sidewalk for a while now. I did not touch it cause it looks dirty and wet for some reason. The mask has seen far better days. It matches the color of the blue swatch. At this point in the walk the weather is still very nice and the streets have quieted down. The wind is picking up which is giving a very nice breeze. It is confusing because the weather feels like spring but it is actually the beginning of fall. The sidewalks are busy with people and you can hear millions of small conversations as if you were sitting in a busy bar.

Mask

Finally I am at the end of the block with the Ion on it and I am taking a second to look around. To my left is a residential street with townhomes on the right and a nun building on the left. Straight ahead is going down Fullerton and to my right is a bike rack. To the right is a tree with the leaves just starting to really turn now, something I did not get a lot of in Dallas. Behind the bike rack is Fullerton and on the other side of the street is a big red bricked building. I am not certain of what exactly it is but I think it is an apartment building of some kind, the brick is very clear and vibrant. Looking at the bike rack, one bike stood out because one of the details on the bike looks very very similar to the blue color swatch that I have. I got closer and my hunch was right.

Bike

Now that I have finished observing this block of Fullerton I was about to cross and go further down. And as I was looking at my phone, yes I know sorry, I saw the weird little bumpy things that are at the crosswalks of ever block; I never knew for sure what the were used for. I think that it is for blind people to feel the cross walk but I am not sure. But back to what I was saying. I saw the bumpy thing and as I was looking at it and pondering the reasons for its existence, I realized I had an assignment to do and looked closer. The bumpy thing actually matches the color of my swatch. Boom. The weird rust like stuff mixed with the original black it is supposed to be mix to match to be Quartersawn Oak.

Bumpy Thing

I have past a few blocks since my last notes and not a lot meaningful has happened the walk has been pleasant and refreshing it feels great out and is kind of a pleasant quiet. I have been looking all around me and nothing has stood out. I have past residential streets and families walking dogs. I have past people in a rush and people strangely over dressed with what looked like no destination in mind. Finally I looked to my left and saw a fence. Yes, a fence. The fence was a lot of shades of brown but one in particular was what mattered the most to me. Quartersawn Oak. Thats the shade, and the fence had the most beautiful hue of Quartersawn Oak.

Fence

I finally kept walking looking for a reason to stop just but was waiting for it to find me. Eventually, it did. I was walking and became very parched and I did not bring my water bottle with me, rookie mistake. But then I saw it, there was a BP. A small gas station and it was my reason. I went in and got myself an Arizona tea which quenched my thirst and I had a nice calm walk back to my dorm.

The right to a city is a way of gatekeeping a city in my opinion. I think everyone has a right to the city. But at the same time when allowing access to everyone people with malicious intents get through and endanger people in the city. It is defined well by saying it’s not by ownership or even really residency but it is by participation that gives you a right to the city. By putting yourself in the city you can have the city be part of you. It is a two way street the city never owes you anything unless you have done something for the city. Whether it be going out and going to a farmers market supporting local farmers and entrepreneurs. Or whether it be more service based and you volunteer. Or it can even be just going and walking through the city observing and keeping your eyes alert trying to pick up on all you can. Not being afraid but embracing the experience that the city gives you. That truly is when you have a right to the city. When you actively participate in the life and culture of the city. Not letting yourself be blind to the issues around you. (205)

--

--