Saturday in the (Lincoln) park

Conor Reid
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
3 min readSep 20, 2021

Ever since I moved I have been going on daily walks. My roommate like to make fun of me for doing it saying I’m doing “extra credit” work for this class but I do it because I enjoy it, it helps me clear my head. So this assignment was pretty easy for me I just need to pay closer attention than I normally did. So I put in my headphones, blasted Dolly Parton, and I was off.

  1. 8:00pm. Lots and lots of cars.
  2. 8:05pm. There are lots of vines.
  3. 8:08pm. Spider on jacket caused me to freakout. People are staring as I write this.
  4. 8:10pm. Met a basset hound named Winston.
  5. 8:12pm. Passed a 7–11 where a man tried to sell me a $2 magazine. What a steal!
  6. 8:15pm. Met another dog but I didn’t catch its name because the owner seemed like a jerk.
  7. 8:20pm. Took a right where I usually take a left.
  8. 8:22pm. Spotted the darkest alley I’ve ever seen.
  9. 8:25pm. There are a lot less dogs.
  10. 8:27pm. Lots of residential buildings but most are locked behind a gate.

11. 8:30pm. Cool building!

12. 8:34pm. Homeless person asked me for change and I gave them $5.

13. 8:38pm. I have no clue where I am!

14. 8:43pm. I can hear lots of drunk people loudly talking at eachother.

15. 8:50pm. I have no clue where I am.

16. 8:55pm. I found an intersection I know. Somehow I got all the way to North and Clyborn Station.

17. 9:00pm. I saw Winston again! He was still a good boy.

18. 9:05pm. I walked through a spider web.

19. 9:08pm. I keep hearing the train pass by.

20. 9:15pm. I passed Homeslice. The pizza smelled really good.

21. 9:25pm. I made it to the park by a and got a really nice picture of the park.

I have experienced a multitude of variety in my excursions through Chicago. As I mentioned earlier in the piece I have taken it upon myself to take daily walks on my own and while my roommate jokes that it is for extra credit it gives me time to do things that I can only do by myself, like call my friends and clear my head. I walk the same route everyday for that same reason I always get a cheeseburger from the dining hall, I am a creature of habit. Strangely, even though I walk the same route everyday, I rarely experience the same things. For example, When I walk down North Seminary Avenue I walk past a lot of residential buildings and I noticed that one house has already put up their halloween decorations and that one of the more modern looking houses has a fist as its door knob. I also encounter a wide range of people from couples to fellow college students. I think the variety is what makes these walks special to me because it keeps things familiar enough for me to know where I am going but keeps things fresh enough to always keep me on my toes.

--

--