Acasey
4 min readSep 19, 2021

September 14th, 2021

· A bright pink jeep

o On Belden Drive, maybe around 12:30 ish. Whenever I see colored two door jeeps, specifically pink ones, they remind me of my friend from home who drove the same kind. They are surprisingly more common than one would think.

Pink Jeep outside of the Academic Center

· A Grandmother pushing her grandchild in a stroller with a dog

o Near Bauler park, approximately 1:30pm. This stood out to me because it was in the deep residential part of Lincoln Park. It was very still and quiet around there, you can tell a lot of families live nearby. This is also around the area I saw the women walking their dogs. I assumed that it was a grandmother and grandchild because the woman was quite a bit older, and the child was no older than one year. Since it was also in the middle of the work week, I could assume that maybe she was on babysitting duty while the parents worked. They were in front of me for a while, but I did not notice them until we neared the park. For the rest of the time, it was just us three there.

In this part of Lincoln Park, you can so easily forget that you are in a city as big as Chicago. Seeing something so simple and innocent as a grandmother babysitting her grandchild really brings you back down to the ground level view of the city as opposed to the birds eye view from the Hancock center. This also goes back to the idea of people seeing new experiences in cities through the lens of their own experience and memories. My father was estranged from his mother, and my maternal grandmother lives in Nevada, so I never was close with either of my grandmothers. However, my mom always talks about how excited she is to become a grandmother so that she could babysit them when my siblings and I are working. Seeing this made me think of her.

I took this picture because I thought that the neighborhood was so pretty, I did not even notice that the woman I wrote about was in the background.

· Lots of women walking their dogs. Legitimately only saw women with their dogs in this park of the city.

· A group of professors and students outside the College of Education, some were smoking.

· Found Bauler Park, very small and quaint, but is one of my new favorite places.

Leaves on the ground- the first sign of fall

· Walked past the fire station

· Walked into Oz Park

· Saw people taking tennis lessons.

· Saw multiple couples who looked like they were on their first date.

· Then saw two elderly couples.

· Saw a jewelry stand, the woman sold pieces that her family makes in Peru

· Got Potbelly’s

· Saw lots and lots of spiderwebs and spiders. Why are there so many spiders in Chicago?

o Object Collection: A ring from the woman in Oz Park, and a picture of the spiders.

A map of my Walk.

o “Handheld Time Machines.”

What I believe Turnbull was trying to say while using the phrase “they disregard me” is that nowadays with our smartphones, people are more often than not disconnected from each other even while experiencing the same terrain on a day-to-day experience. Now with our phones, we never have to stop to ask some random passer byer where something is or how to get to a certain place because everything we need is in the palm of our hand. People often use this idea to argue that we are no longer connecting with people, but I happen to think that it is having the opposite effect. I believe that the use of technology and social media have made it easier for people all over the world to get in contact and form new bonds. Just because people no longer stop and chat with each other on the street does not mean that we as a society have lost our humanity, it just means that people are commuting and are busy. I think that Turnbull was using this phrase as a way to comment on how the way humans interact with each other have changed since time has progressed. (199)