Stalking Strangers

Danny Wright
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
4 min readSep 29, 2021

Walking Journal

I started off my walk in the quad, looking for a stranger to follow. The quad was very peaceful; it was a sunny day, not too hot, and there were a few people lying on the grass. I was drawn to a group of what looked like DePaul students, there were 2 girls and 2 boys walking together headed east down Fullerton. I was drawn towards them because they looked like were around my age. It seemed like they were headed somewhere because they were walking at a particularly fast pace, so I started to follow them. I remember listening in on their conversation; they were talking about how they hadn’t bought any of their textbooks yet, so I assumed they went to school at DePaul. I wasn’t afraid of being caught following them because they seemed friendly; they would probably think it was funny and we could laugh at how ridiculous the assignment was. I was able to walk pretty close behind them without them getting suspicious. The group talked about going to see someone they knew play guitar at a house party later that night. This made me jealous because it seemed like they had fun plans while I had nothing else going on that day. They ended up walking down to a 5-way intersection, turning left onto N Lincoln Ave.

Almost immediately after turning left they took another left into a CVS. I discreetly followed them into the CVS and watched them wonder through the candy aisle. They said they needed more snacks for their room. It made me wonder if any of them were roommates. I never got a glimpse of what they bought but I assumed it was candy. Once they left the store, I waited inside for another minute to not raise suspicion. I noticed when the group left the CVS, they took a sharp left into an alley way. I almost lost them, but I ended up seeing them on the other side. As I exited the CVS and entered the alleyway, I saw this colorful eye-catching mural with a long wavy arm pointed to the exit. The colors really made this piece, I loved the limited pallets. At the same time, the murals only showed legs and feet; I think the meaning behind it was that we never stop to look at each other’s faces. We’ll walk right next to someone without even realizing. Whether we’re looking at our phones or trying to get to a destination, we never take the time out of our day to stop and talk to one another. It was like I had encountered a ghost because the bottom of the mural had the year 2012 labeled. This was a clue left behind from the past indicating when it was painted.

Once the group passed through the alleyway, they took a left and crossed the street heading back west towards the Fullerton station. They eventually ended up passing through the gates at the station and I stopped following the group at last. Their journey continued while mine did not. I enjoyed following strangers because it gave me an opportunity to learn what it is like from another’s perspective as well as what is going through their heads and where they are trying to get to.

Map of walk

Reading Journal

To me losing yourself in the city is absorbing all of your surroundings, connecting with the community, and exploring the city. Ever since I have arrived at DePaul, I have had many experiences losing myself in the city. I love Chicago because of how walkable it is and how you truly do not need a car to live here. One experience I have had losing myself in the city is just walking around Lincoln Park in the evening, watching the sunset. Whenever it is a clear sunny evening and I have the opportunity to look at the sunset, I will do it. It is a different feel from the madness of the day where everyone is rushing around trying to get things done. It is really amazing how quickly the city dies in the evening. Sometimes even at just 7 or 8 o’clock the cars just disappear. It is so easy to take for granted the areas we live in. Walking and observing is such a simple activity that requires no possessions and no money and yet it has offered me so much! (183)

--

--