Two Hour Walk, Considerably Shorter Attention Span

3:50

I do not remember when exactly I started my walk, but this is the time I took my first photo, so it seems to be an appropriate place to start. I discovered a regular alley close to DePaul, but I love alleys, ones lined with brick are a novelty to someone born in California, so I took a picture of it.

3:55

I discovered my first of two houses decorated for Halloween. This is a lot less than I saw on my walk last week, but that can be attributed to the fact that I walked down commercial streets for the majority of the walk.

4:00

I found an absolutely beautiful intersection between two buildings, with a nice view of the slightly cloudy sky above.

4:04

I swear these timestamps will grow farther apart as I get deeper in this walk. It is around this time where I discover a building that might be a historical landmark, it sure looked like it. I found a very similar building on Historypin, but it was sadly a different building around an hour away, this building was just a spectacular looking church. Rats, foiled again. This is also the time I discovered possibly the most awkward crosswalk I have ever encountered, with the curb detaching and reforming halfway into the street, the whole area covered in pylons.

4:07

I noticed an area on a relatively empty street that was just full of higher end cars, no Ferraris or anything just nicer sedans. I looked for why these cars might be here and something told me it had to be because of the small, significantly less appealing Church of Scientology across the street. Interesting.

4:09

I discovered a store that was having an estate sale. I stepped inside to discover an odd array of paintings of ballerinas, statues, old furniture, and newer toys from Star Wars and Pixar films. It was relatively dark inside the store and was occupied entirely by older women, so I turned around and continued on my walk. This is where the constant sounds of traffic and cars whirling by became white noise to me.

4:12

I discovered an interesting mural of two people, one with face paint, one in an army helmet about to touch hands. I have no idea who painted it, but whoever it was should get a job in the comic book industry immediately, because it was really good.

4:20

This is where things become much more stretched out, both in my writing and in my walk, I was entering a much less walkable area. I discovered a Whole Foods. While I know Jason has talked about the lack of appeal the façade of Whole Foods provides, I do not know if he was talking about this specific location, but I would not be surprised if he was. The bland blue tinted glass made the whole building feel like an alien dropped it there. This is also the point where the previous white noise of the cars came to the forefront of my mind. Now, the walk has pushed me into my mind, instead of into my surroundings.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwdPayLgF-0

4:31

I stand at an intersection. Across the street there is a mural that I am dying to get a picture of. The street is busy with cars, no stop to the traffic in sight. All I hear is the loud passing of cars. I put in my earbuds and turned up my music, but all I can hear are the cars. It is cool out, but I thought it would be raining, so I dressed in heavier clothes. These boots were, in fact, not made for walking. I feel like I am boiling. I touch my arm, it is cold. I had a cup of coffee in the morning and have not had anything to drink since. My head is pounding. I type into my notes app “I feel miserable.” A fly lands on my forehead. It flies away thirty seconds later in a particularly strong gust of wind. The crossing signal shows no sign of changing. I walk away. Two minutes had passed.

4:36

I saw a sign that said “Tackle balding.” I wondered which politician had the name Balding. Hahaha, what a silly mistake.

4:37

I finally get a picture of the mural, but something tells me this one was commissioned by the bank that owns the parking lot adjacent to it. I can not help but feel that that makes it less special.

4:41

I saw a bakery called Dinkle’s. It was sadly closed when I came by, but it looked nice through the window, and I absolutely adore the name. I was exhausted, maybe I should go sit down. I should visit again later.

4:47

I enter a Starbucks to relax for a bit. I still have not recovered from 4:31. They ran out of the drink I wanted. Such is life. I am still going to take that break.

5:06

I see a couple with cute shirts. They said that they were parents. The baby was pretty adorable as well.

5:22

I see a really cute mural, this one, this one I like. The tropical colors and abstract aesthetic really draw me in, it reminds me of California.

5:23

I see another mural, this one with several bears on it. I realize this probably represents the Chicago Bears, but it also REALLY reminds me of California.

5:35 I found a restaurant that said it served “Peruvian Cuisines and Steaks.” Nothing in particular was appealing about this restaurant, but I find it hilarious that they had to specify that they served food, AND, steak. It is as if the steak is an entirely different entity.

5:39

I take a picture of a beautiful High School. Historypin has a postcard with it on it. The school was built in 1901. Honestly, the last half of this walk was me on the search for this building, or honestly any building with a picture on Historypin. I could have probably more easily researched a type of tree for this portion, but that felt like the cowards way out. So there I was, in front of the second most impressive building I have seen today.

5:45

It starts raining. Or maybe it starts to sprinkle, either way, my prediction was proven true. Then, I discover that my jacket does not have a hood, truly a terrible defeat.

5:59

I find an Ed Sheeran look alike, I walk behind him for a bit. Really a great way to end my day.

--

--