walking with family

Pcasellas
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
4 min readOct 11, 2021

In this walking journal I traveled to multiple areas across Chicago. And I have taken multiple photos that are similar to the color of the tags. And lastly in this walking week that I did, my family came through and visited me. It was the perfect idea to start my walking journey this week and why not do it with your family? This was also a multi-day walking process so I took photos in different days.

For this day I walked with my cousin to a concert at Navy Pier. We stopped at Grand station and walked our way through downtown. The reason why I picked this photo was for multiple reasons. First things first was the message that the artist played. In context it had an aspect of peacefulness and very environmental. Tons of images of trees, flowers, and the sky were appearing at the massive monitor. And with the blue lights, it gives me and the others around me a feeling of satisfaction and inner peace. And the feeling of fun with being with your relatives and members of your family.

The second photo was at Sox-35th station after the party. I took this station at the north because my cousin and his friends stayed nearby this station, so I have to take this train back south to Lincoln park So why did I took this photo? What caught my eye was the dark blue sign at the edge where it says Sox-35th. T̶h̶e̶ ̶f̶a̶c̶t̶ ̶t̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶i̶t̶ ̶w̶a̶s̶ ̶b̶l̶u̶e̶ ̶i̶t̶ ̶s̶e̶e̶m̶e̶d̶ ̶p̶e̶r̶f̶e̶c̶t̶ ̶a̶s̶ ̶a̶n̶ ̶e̶x̶a̶m̶p̶l̶e̶ ̶f̶o̶r̶ ̶m̶y̶ ̶t̶a̶g̶ ̶t̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶w̶a̶s̶ ̶b̶l̶u̶e̶.̶ Its like a symbol or sign that can help people familiarize and know what station you are. And the fact that my cousin helped me lead to the station where I can head back to Lincoln park. That is why I took this photo.

In next day my parents and my sister arrived in Chicago to visit me. We planned to hang out in some sort of restaurant at the west loop. Through our destination, I’ve managed to stumble to a few peculiar structures and objects that I managed to took. And it seemed perfect to take all of these photos while being with my family because were heading somewhere. In the first on in the top is a red water silo. One thing why I took this silo is that silos seemed rare in places like Florida. A silo like this even when its red made me told my mind to take this photo. The second one was this blue mural that's named PICCOLO SOGNO. Murals are common throughout Chicago and it seemed reasonable to take this photo as a reminder of how the culture of Chicago is and its phenomenon of the murals that are scattered across Chicago. They never lose my interest. The third image shows a red broken detour sign that was laying down at west area of the loop. While Chicago and its portrayal of a great metropolis and city that is visited by million, its downsides of decaying infrastructure and left over materials give a scar to this big city at the Michigan lake. It gives the reality that even the greatest cities have its flaws and its flaws at America are its slow modernizing of improving infrastructure. Its a massive city and a city like this has massive responsibilities to deal with. That's why I took this image. The final is this red umbrella where we ate which it is at Western AVE. I took this picture as a way of showing that my family and I enjoyed each other in this restaurant and the fact that my parents, sister and I missed each other.

--

--