Who’s got the best Halloween decoration?

rafaella
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
7 min readOct 11, 2021

I decided to start my walking adventure in a new place. I like Lincoln Park a lot yet I opted for a change of scenery. I took the brown line to Kimball at 1:00 PM and got off at Paulina around ten minutes later. I came across this place some weeks ago when I went out to do some grocery shopping looking for a Target store and ended up liking it quite a bit. Perhaps is the amount of trees and green spaces (mostly yellow and orange now) this area has. I feel like I can better appreciate fall near Paulina. The neighborhood has a welcoming and serene ambiance due to the unusual quietude and locals decorating their houses the same way an artist would paint a baroque painting. It almost looks like they want walkers to stop by and see their work. During this time, it feels like a competition. Who is the best Halloween decorator in town. It makes me want to walk its streets.

I also decided to wander this place as a result of the colors I selected. Georgian Leather and Stormy Ridge. They are quite vibrant and unusual. I remember choosing them because they make a nice color palette for an outfit I once made up in my mind.

I left the train station and walked towards Roscoe street for approximately 5 minutes. I had the color samples in my hand and my phone in the other, awaiting to capture any evidence that crossed my path.

Orange was the first color that I encountered. The fallen leaves on the concrete. I was still at Roscoe Street, near the intersection by Lincoln Avenue. There were many shops around me, mostly boutiques and coffee shops that reminded me of the tranquility of downtown Chicago. I took a picture and looked up. The orange path extended to the very end of the street as if they were arranged this way for me to walk through it.

As I kept walking, the sunlight filtered through the trees and reached me. Some minutes later I noticed some lively colors on a wall. Even though I had walked the street before, I had never acknowledged the mural painted on the nearby alley’s wall. I stepped out of the main street and headed towards it. Another match. This time it was the color blue. Blue has always been such a calming color for me. It is the color of the sky when there are no clouds in sight, it is the color of a dormant sea and the color of my great-grandfather’s eyes.

To my surprise, there were actually two murals. Both had blue in them. The first mural consisted of a silhouette of a person and plants with vivid colors. The other one had bears painted on them. I liked the second one better. I have always loved animals, does not matter if they are domesticated or not.

I made it to the intersection of Roscoe Street and Ashland Avenue (I didn’t know there was more than one Ashland Avenue). There were fewer pretty buildings with attractive decorations on them, therefore it was not as enjoyable as before. I turned left and kept on marching. I saw people casually walking in that area, hence why it lured me to that place.

I came across more houses with spooky ornaments. However, there was one that stood out. Ironically it did not have any decoration. The way it was built, the style, the colors, and the vibes it emanated were enough to give me chills. It looked like an authentic witch’s house. I sped up my pace.

Eventually, I found a small and colorful Mexican restaurant. What caught my eye was the elaborate adornments in front of it. They had inflatable floppy guys from the characters of Tim Burton’s movie “The Nightmare Before Christmas.” In the picture, the green guy is the boogeyman. It is one of my favorite animated movies. The front part had the blue I was looking for on them as well. Unfortunately, the picture I took came out blurry and wobbly, yet it can still be appreciated at the entrance.

Moving forwards, I was between N Marshfield Avenue and Addison Street. I spotted this brick-colored building which reminded me of my visit to Bricktown. The color also matched the orange I had in my hand. I snapped a photo. While doing it, a really strong breeze made me lose my balance. I was quite shocked. I keep forgetting this place is called “The Windy City” for a reason.

After walking some other blocks, the sun began to hide. Clouds replaced it even though it was only 2 PM, warning everyone of the potential rain. When days turn like this, I feel more tired. I have always loved sunny, bright days. Rainy days are only pleasant when I am inside watching my favorite shows with snacks alongside. Not when I am about to get soaked in the middle of the street.

I caught sight of a Dunkin’ Donuts. Their orange matched the Georgia Leather’s. I quickly made a comparison before taking a picture. Seeing that place made me crave their famous munchkins. The frustration of knowing that the rain will probably catch me and wanting to stop by and buy some for later but not having enough time and cash was not a good combination. Just about the same time, I noticed a familiar blue garbage truck. It was probably the quickest picture I have ever taken.

I noted on the map that I was pretty far away from the Paulina stop already. I had walked towards the north. The nearest station was the Addison train station. I opted to use it to go back home. The rain did start to fall and I quickly stood beneath the small roof. I forgot to bring both a jacket and an umbrella. There was only one woman who was waiting for the train as well. It felt quite lonely.

Perhaps if the weather hadn’t changed so drastically, I would have explored some more.

I did not realize how colorful this city was until this assignment. City colors are uniquely evanescent and carry within years of history. For example, the old train tracks of the CTA I waited at were not always bronze and, some buildings were painted on, hiding their previous colors and blending in the city like a chameleon in a rainforest. It is an endless cycle of change.

Colors can be associated as well. To represent, to alert, to entertain, among others. It requires just a bit more attention to notice these slight variations and their purpose.

Map:

According to Malchik in “March,” why is a community’s walkability “one of the single greatest factors in building social capital” (p. 45)? What is social capital? How do your community’s public infrastructure and public spaces support walkability (or not)? How has your community’s walkability factored in your social capital?

When people actively walk, socialize, and participate in activities that promote engagement with those who live near them, it increases social capital. It is how much a community or area’s individuals interact and care for one another. This type of behavior can be encouraged if these locations and public spaces are designed to motivate people to walk around and interact with each other.

I can speak for the community in Ecuador, at least the one I was raised in. The social capital is high. I remember playing in the park of my district with my cousins and the neighbor’s kids. My mom would stay near and chat with the kid’s parents. They built a nice relationship with the neighborhood.

I also remember that someone’s house got broken into and their stuff got stolen. The locals, including my family, donated some of our stuff to the affected people.

I think the communal areas are what aid this type of interaction. The parks, the wide sidewalks, and the benches at the corner helped us bring us together.

(175 words)

--

--