A Park Nearby Yet so Foreign

Imaad Anis
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
2 min readSep 19, 2018

Growing up I hardly ever walked many places until I discovered a basketball court nearby to my house at which point I started walking there with a group of my friends from my neighborhood. We lived in a nice suburb, Glen Ellyn, so I never really had to worry too much about things like kidnapping but from a very early age my mom instilled in my mind the idea that if you see a stranger always assume they have bad intentions. It was the way she was taught when she was younger and she’s still here today unlike so many kids around the world who get taken from their parents and families every day. That idea of strangers being bad stuck with me throughout my entire life and to this day I take a defensive mindset every time an unknown person approaches me out in the city. To answer the question, yes I believe every time you go out for a walk in the city whether it’s just to class or to your dorm, you’re putting yourself at risk to be one of those many cases of kids of all ages being taken and although there are preventative measures in place like police and security cameras, there is still a risk or these cases wouldn’t be happening to this day (220 word).

--

--