Proposal

Alex Simadis
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
2 min readOct 17, 2018

According to Malchik, walking is a privelage. She says this because there are people that do not have good sidewalks or areas to walk around. There are a lot of people that can “walk”, but not everybody is in a good spot to do so. The threats to people walking is every car on the street. There are a lot of lives lost or hurt as a result of a car hitting pedestrians. Pedestrians are obviously at great risk because they don’t control the drivers actions. Where we live is very important in how we are able to walk. In populated areas, pedestrians have to be extremely careful with how many cars are passing by. Some people have small and unsafe sidewalks, while others have large and spacious sidewalks. Having more safety and space makes walking safer and more encouraging. People in areas with bad sidewalks will not take as many walks as a person with a better walking area.

For my final project, I wanted to make a map of the cars and the colors of these cars. I want to see how the cars and colors may change as I pass through the area. I would like to show how the cars may reflect something about the area. For example, when we were in the Gold Coast, there were a lot of luxury cars.

This is the first car I took a picture of when I was walking. There are obviously a lot of cars on the street so this is just one of the many cars that I will see.

This is another white Jeep that I saw when I was walking. These two were pretty close so I feel like the models/type of car may say something about the area that I am In. I could also be surprised by seeing some interesting and different cars.

My map only includes some of Fullerton currently. I look forward to seeing other parts.

--

--