Final Map Ideas

Hannah Orlando
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
2 min readOct 17, 2018

I am indecisive, so I have a few different ideas for my final project. One would be food in Chicago in which I would select a food or foods and map where they can be found and ask why some types of foods are only in some areas; one food that I was considering searching out was Banh Mi’s because they are a very good type of Vietnamese food and when I am in some areas I find them somewhat hard to locate. Another idea would to look at how people in Chicago dress differently in different neighborhoods, and find the best street styles of each area. Another would be to find rat holes in Chicago; I’ve encountered a few rats here and I’ve begun noticing their little home holes.

In retrospect walking always seems like it should be a right. However, when observing the actual roads, there is a lack of designated walking space. Americas car-centric culture has made walking into a privilege. The dangers surrounding walking are mainly due to the lack of safe spaces to walk; such as safety difficulties when walking a road with no sidewalk or the threat when crossing the street when there are no near crosswalks. Where one lives defiantly influences how they live and their ability to walk. Living in a big city with lots of storefronts allows people the most freedom to walk while living in a suburbia or somewhere near a highway walking is more of a challenge because the roads are designed for cars, not pedestrians.

--

--