Shengkai Yao
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
2 min readOct 17, 2018

--

Green space surrounded by tall buildings

  • In response to Malchik, is walking a luxury, a privilege, a necessity, or a right, and why? What are the threats to walking? How does where you live influence how you live?

I want to answer this question. I think Malchik thought walking is a right and a necessity. Because in the article Malchik said more and more Americans are start driving and using public transportation instead of walking, which increased the obesity rate in the US and make Americans more unhealthy. Malchik also thought people start feeling strange and afraid of walking. Because people start to fear and distrust strangers on the road and strangers in the community, so people choose not to walk, which make people feel strange to walk. Because of these reasons Malchik thought people should walk more and put down the alert, which will make people connect to each other again and become more and more health. Depending on tragedies like Raquel Nelson’s, I think the most important threat on walking is safety. Because the tragedies like Raquel Nelson’s made people don’t trust that walking is safe. In the article, Malchik said people in Russia and some European countries they prefer walking and they are enjoying walking, which can make them feel happy. However, in America because of wealth and the tragedies like Raquel Nelson’s make people don’t want to walk, which shows in different countries people have different opinions about walking.

For my final project I want to talk about the green space on both sides of the south Lake Shore Dr, which is in downtown Chicago and it’s a place surrounded by tall buildings. I want to talk about the history and stories about these parks and green space and how this green space is very important in Chicago. I will talk about why people should go to that green space instead of sitting in the Starbucks, libraries and houses. I will also talk about my own stories, and my own thinking about when I was walking in the green space.

--

--