Guiding Colors

Ethan Aquino
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
3 min readOct 10, 2018

I started my walk at the Chicago stop because I woke up that morning wanting to go to the John Hancock building. I wasn’t really sure where to start so I walked over to the water tower and saw all the greenery around me. Trees sprouting out like veins the bark sticking out like ruffled pieces of paper. Their was no breeze due to all the large skyscrapers around me. It was a different seeing all the green space, but hearing the constant sound of cars and trucks.

Across the street I saw a large checked cash sign that caught my eye. It was green as well so that helped. The bright and vibrant “OPEN” sign reminded me a lot of a barber shop for some reason. The light also had a consistent noise coming from it. A low pitched hum made you notice more clearly.

While by the green Checks Cashed sign I spotted something through the trees that was the same color as my blue paint chip. It was my favorite chocolate Ghirardelli. As you got closer to it the smell of sweet chocolate would engulf you. The temptation to go in came over me, but through the power of will I preceded on my walk passing by black metal chairs and small patches of green leaves along the way.

While heading towards my destination the John Hancock I came across a blue garbage can. I was very intrigued by it because if I looked around all the other garbage cans were either black or gray. This to me was a sign that I was called to walk this way. The sounds of cars was very prominent here and the smell of garbage was overpowering. A man behind me whistled for a cab so loud that my ears started to ring.

The black dots represent where I saw all my items.

What is a map? How do Krygier & Wood define a map? How is a map related to the world it depicts? Why do we make maps?

A map to me is something anyone and everyone can use to locate a certain place or destination. It can be used to mark down places of interest or places to stay away from. A map can be a representation of roads, cities, or even landmarks/features of the land. Krygier & Wood define a maps as propositions in graphic form. They “affirm the existence and locations of its subjects. This is there…” A map is related to the world it depicts because it is actual symbols and representations of the real world we all live in. A map is as precise as can be when representing something from the world on a tangible object. We make maps so we can record the world around us using various symbols to represent them. When you make a map you are making a reference to a certain area so that it’s easy to identify.

--

--