William Ziegler
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
2 min readOct 3, 2018

--

This is the walk I chose to go on for this week (ignore the points that I’ve set on the map, I just used them to draw the block that I walked around).

My field notes.

According to Jacobs, what mistakes did urban planners of the 1950s make? Can you find such mistakes in Chicago?

Jacobs believes that the most common mistake these urban planners made was designing the city too much from the “birds eye view”. They designed it with the overall beauty and big-picture scene in mind, rather than the very close-to-the-chest walkers view, which is more often how people will experience the city, not from high above. You can see some of these examples in Chicago, with areas laid out in perfect grids that aren’t always the best for walkers. Often times, getting to a shop becomes a matter of walking around blocks and blocks, or up into tall buildings full of other shops.

--

--