Perception

Natalie Trytko
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
3 min readSep 5, 2018

Looking at the city from a bird’s eye view was truly astonishing. The variety of modern and old structures, clashing to create one of America’s most popular cities. Being up at the very top of the Hancock building made me feel like I truly knew the city, considering I got to see the majority of it. Tourists from all around are so privileged to get to see this view. However, if you think about it, they aren’t really observing the entire city. They disregard all of the other neighborhoods that lie beneath the buildings that tower far over the clouds in the sky; they forget about the cities that add on to Chicago’s character.

As I walked farther and farther away from the loop, towards the western section of the city, I came to realize that there was a smaller number of pedestrians that walked amongst me. Like when arriving in places with a well-known stereotype. For example, Humboldt park. Known for being full of “gangs” and “crackheads”. Now of course, I was aware of the stereotype, but I chose not to perceive the city in that manner.

During orientation, I recall discussing how to perceive people, or generally anything with a given stereotype, with more of an open mind. Meaning that you’ll define someone, or something based off of what you specifically experienced. With doing that, you’ll be able to discover things on your own, rather than just live off of what other people experienced.

As I was walking with an unfixed mind, I looked up at the swirled pole that towered over the street, extending past the pavement, the shape of a Puerto Rican flag. Brick buildings flooded with all colors on the spectrum. My blood began to synchronize with the ongoing beat of drums and maracas. My nose tempted me to follow the trail of fresh burritos. Along the park laid a beautiful clear pond, with numerous activities that I was ready to participate in.

Yes, I felt so ridiculously amazed, and in one with the neighborhood; however, shortly after, I began to reflect. I asked myself “How must they feel about us?”. A group of mostly Caucasian college students roaming around, looking, observing them like zoo animals. Trapped, and threatened they must’ve felt.

That day, I realized how lively and spontaneous that city really was. But, since there are so many barriers that prevent our communities from intertwining, we disregard that city as a part of Chicago. People come in with fixed minds, and don’t give the city a chance to show its beauty.

Similarly, Immersion week at DePaul has shown me that we all come from a different community and hold a distinctive identity. With a diverse school, it may be hard to include others, especially if they’re different from you. Here, we must try to set aside those barriers and look to understand and accept one another. We must look past the popular opinion and define things from our own experiences; we must give everyone a chance.

--

--