Taking the River on a Walk

Natalie Trytko
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
7 min readSep 28, 2018

My journey arises at the Riverwalk in Chicago.

6:13 pm

As I sit on the edge of chiseled pavement, just alongside the Chicago River, I search upon my phone’s complementary weather app to recall upon the exact degree; 69 degrees Fahrenheit. The air suffocated me, being that it was full of intoxicating smoke debris, causing my brain to melt. Strangers, mostly men I should say, jogging across the wide pavement. Out of the 4 that I had seen, 3 of them were wearing sunglasses. Boy are men odd.

O’Briens Place

6:17 pm

I begin to walk east from where I started. A bar, with cute lights that hugged each edge of the structure. Sanded wooden chairs, beverages served in mason jars, and lime green umbrellas that could cover 20 people during a thunderstorm. Consider this place to be the motherland for all pedestrians.

6:25pm

People wearing nice clothing, taking pictures of structures that appear new and astonishing to them. I assume tourists who are new to the city of Chicago. They point and admire the scenery. The clash of modern and old buildings, causing the city to look historical and futuristic at the same time. Tourists pointing, constantly despising our president’s building, though it in fact is a beautiful structure.

6:31pm

I lean against the gate, close my eyes, and force my senses to paint a mental picture of what is happening around me. I hear a group of men laughing, speaking of the night they had before. The wind blew through my entire body, leaving behind goosebumps and shivers. The waves of the Chicago River crashing along the edge of the pavement, oscillating back and forth. Cars from the street above, constantly either revving their engines or honking more than needed.

6:37 pm

My weather app still says it’s 69 degrees Fahrenheit, though it feels much like 49 degrees Fahrenheit. As my proximity to the trump tower decreases, I notice how women don’t walk on their own, but with some sort of companion; whether that’d be a dog or another person. Why is it that men are able to wear such ridiculous and attention getting accessories, like sunglasses near dusk, while women are immediately at risk or are “peacocking”? Why are women not able to exercise their freewill of accessing public space without having “protection”? Why do they have to live in constant fear? even when doing the simplest of tasks? What can be done? What must be done?

6:47 pm

I make my way to sit on a bench, and in front of me lies the beloved, Trump Tower. I begin to study it’s extravagant décor, the symmetrical lights on the gate which illuminate the entrance and the route leading to the street. I see the 10 well-maintained steel pillars, a very American look. Long glass windows that enable me to engage in everything that is happening inside. It’s crazy to think how so many great things could be branded by such an ugly person.

I looked up blueprints for the Trump tower. It is truly an exquisite building, and since I’m really never going to be inside of it, I decided to look inside virtually.

Standard room in the Trump Tower

6:51pm

As I am peering at the Trump Tower, a man passed by me with a marijuana infused blunt, that wreaked more and more as I became fixed on it. He was a white man, with a red t-shirt, that obviously wasn’t his proper size. His jeans outlined the sewing of the material in a pearly white. His shoes were once white, but now a darker color it seems. His neck, not one inch not covered with black ink. I smiled at him and he smiled back.

Trump Tower with thermal effect

6:56pm

The weather app recalls it to be 67 degrees Fahrenheit, makes more sense now. When I look up from my phone, I accidentally make eye-contact with a man who appeared to look like a mobster. He was wearing a brown suit, along with a khaki fedora. He was smoking a thick cigar, in which he puffed constantly. He was in some essence, built, but yet slim.

6:57 pm

A boat tour guide hollers loudly through his megaphone regarding the history of the Trump Tower. From that tour boat alone, I had learned that it was completed in 2009, and that it is was supposed to be “the world’s tallest building” (according to Trump).

Apple building and Chicago Tribune office

7:10 pm

I walked past the bridge and am now just across from the Apple building. It is basically a ginormous glass box. Even from a distance you can see what’s going on over there. Behind it I notice lies the Chicago Tribune Office. I break my focus due to my peripheral vision alerting me that someone was passing by next to me. A couple who were both giants. I’m not over exaggerating, they both had to be over 6’5’’. They’re hips were at my shoulders, it was crazy! Their pace may have been slow, but one of their steps had to be 5 of mine.

7:17 pm

A woman with her husband and her 2 toddler boys passed by, laughing and seemingly having fun. They held each other’s hands and swung them in a joyous and vibrant vibe. They sang the “ABC song” together, however one of the boys didn’t quite know his alphabet. Her husband speculating, looking very aware of his surroundings. He was focused on each and every person walking by; even me.

Panorama effect on an I-Phone camera

7:26 pm

Once again, I make my way to find a seat next to the bridge in between the Trump Tower and the Apple building. As I sit and relax, I realize how my nose is ridden of “normal” air. The smell compares to a pile of dirty socks smeared with garbage and deviled eggs. It was disgusting I may say. The rumbles coming from the bridge above sends me shivers and makes me more alert of my surroundings.

7:41 pm

I decide that it is time to leave, not only because it was getting incredibly dark, but also because it was getting super cold. It is currently 65 degrees Fahrenheit and according to an app by the name of “Decibel Sound Meter”, it is currently at 61.3 dB, which is moderately loud.

7:47 pm

A woman in a black tank top and black leggings, was running down the ramp with her Pomeranian. As she was running, she stepped on her dog’s hind leg. Never had I heard such a loud shriek. The sound replayed over and over in my head like a scratched record. It sounded like cars smashing head to head with one another, like nails on a scratchboard, like a gunshot; something you’d never want to hear.

Not only do I see something extremely awful, but I see something immensely beautiful. While walking up the ramp I notice how there are vines hugging every inch of the cement wall. It manages to even wrap itself around the guidance handle. Never would I have thought to see something so nature-like in Chicago.

7:55 pm

Instead of getting onto the train at Wells street, Taras and I decide to leave at the Washington blue line stop. My last spontaneous memory before leaving was seeing a homeless man right in front of the Chicago Theater. He had a thick blue jacket, with ripped cargo pants, and a beard that grew down to his clavicle. He held a cardboard sign that had said “Help me, won’t spend on drugs”. He looked around with a look of desperation, tears marbleized his eyes, they were kept inside I assume for dignity and such. He looked down and placed his hands together in prayer. He could’ve been anyone before I think to myself, anyone could get to this point in life.

A total of 2.3 miles was walked during this exploration

Word count: 1305 words

Apps used:

  • Weather app
  • Google map distance tracker
  • Gif maker
  • Thermal Effect FX
  • Decibel Sound meter
  • Videoshop

--

--