The Chi-walks of Chicago

Natalie Trytko
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
8 min readOct 24, 2018
Chi-walks of Chicago Video

My map integrates three different neighborhoods, which are right next to one another, in Chicago. These three neighborhoods are though extremely close to one another, both depict a different kind of environment. I have decided to incorporate the theme of how walkable an area really is to socio-economic class.

The areas that I will be demonstrating are Logan Square, Bucktown, and Lincoln Park. My journey had begun at N Milwaukee Avenue and Fullerton and ended at Depaul’s Quad. It began from a lower socio-economic class neighborhood to a higher one. Though they’re extremely close to one another, they both present a different feel.

As you should know, property tax is what funds the city. Meaning that schools, government occupations, streets, sidewalks, etc. are all funded through the taxes of the population of a particular neighborhood. Of course, those who live in homes that are expensive, which particularly exist in places like Lincoln park or Gold Coast, will have a greater property tax. Generally, this means that they will be able to produce feel good environments by funding more infrastructure projects, like sidewalks that are wide and designed, incorporating more greenery and nature-like things, big bold signs, things that will stimulate the mind. Those who live in a poorer neighborhood, with inexpensive homes, don’t pay as much for their property tax, thus they will not endure the same privilege of obtaining a nice home.

With that, walking is a fundamental right, a way for us to travel wherever we please, with our own body. Just like Malchik A in his article, “The end of walking”, wrote, “Walking is the first legacy of our post-ape genes, the trait that makes us most human.” Walking is an aspect of our humanity. You are allowed to walk wherever you’d like, as long as it is public space. What entices people to walk around a particular area with attention rather than attention, is the infrastructure that supports the act of walking such as: wide pavements, pavements that appear to be plastered on the ground like a mosaic, appealing signs, greenery and nature, things that cause us to notice our surroundings. Places that open up more public space and create a feel-good environment. As Jacobs says in his article, “Downtown is for people”, “The architects, planners — and businessmen–are seized with dreams of order, and they have become fascinated with scale models and bird’s-eye views. This is a vicarious way to deal with reality, and it is, unhappily, symptomatic of a design philosophy now dominant: buildings come first, for the goal is to remake the city to fit an abstract concept of what, logically, it should be” Meaning that we now defy the importance of walking around with attention and experiencing the actual city rather than assuming that we know it from a glance.

N Milwaukee Avenue

At approximately 2:35 pm, I had decided to walk through Logan Square alone, which was truly memorable. I had started walking from North Milwaukee Avenue and Fullerton Avenue to N Milwaukee Avenue and North Western Avenue, up until I reached Fullerton Avenue, where I then walked down to DePaul’s Quad. Before I had never thought to walk down this street, due to the negative connotations that people had towards the people who lived there, but from walking there myself, I have found an okay walking environment

Walking down the first block, I had noticed many unique places. Such as a mustache barber place, that had lights that circled around a sign which they had posted for everyone to see. There had been a place called Masada, which had been on the California Avenue. What was special about this place is that it had glowed up the street with lightbulbs and had a colossal figure of a Hamsa (meant for good luck).

Masada

While walking further down, past California Avenue, I had noticed a small interactive park that was connected to a building. It consisted of wooden tables, colorful metal chairs, big red umbrellas that had lightbulbs dangling from them, and had greenery surrounding its entirety; A success I would say.

Small interactive work space

Continuing my walk, I had realized the abundance of vacant buildings with random signs assembled all over the glass, which made it hard to glance inside. Along with that, the side walk had been dismembered in several areas, making it inconvenient for me to walk. There had been patches of, what was meant to be, grass I suppose in ten feet increments from each other; they were actually weeds and fractions of litter. In addition, there had been several empty lots with piles of trash and rocks; a waste of space.

Disaster

As I continue to walk in this nightmare of a block, I looked up at a building in front of me that appeared to have a blue background, which was the genie from Aladdin, along with a face directly in the middle. Though I could not see the face due to the never-ending amount of parked trucks in front of it. A disaster I tell you; it was unsettling.

Point is to look from a sky view, not from up close

As I approach the Concord Music Hall, I realize that not only am I forced of the sidewalk onto the street, but I witness a child, potentially 11 years old smoking a vape while riding his bike. The horror.

Forcing me to walk on the street

At around 3:00 pm I had arrived on North Western Avenue. I had walked by a place called Eskell, which was a very modern structure, with greenery and many windows. The structure had particularly stood out due to its peers, considering it had an immense amount of windows and a lack of brick. It didn’t include the regular Chicago brick that we’re prone to seeing, thus, it surely stuck out.

The sound of trees swaying through the breeze, cars revving and driving way past the speed limit, people conversing, construction workers arguing, and loud Latin music filled my ears. I almost suffocated due to the thick diesel gas that came from a CTA bus. I had noticed a man painting his taco shop in a bright orange, he smiled at me.

Cute outdoor dining area

I had found an outdoor dine in area, that continued to serve outdoor, considering that still had their metal chairs and tables out. There was a mural of an ethnic group what looks like singing and dancing, a very joyous picture. They had poles in which they had presented tiny lights, which I assume illuminate when it gets dark outside.

Thought this was necessary

From my experience at Logan Square, I had learned that though one particular block may not acquire the elements of a good walkable neighborhood, the next block may be beyond spectacular. Thus, you cannot determine how walkable a neighborhood is from just one block, you must walk all the blocks, or look upon the big picture, to figure it out.

As I get onto Fullerton Avenue, I noticed a man walking, wearing all black, with a limp in his right foot. Of course, me being me, I asked if he was alright, and he said, “No English” and pointed towards the opposite direction I was going and continued to walk. I hope he’s okay.

Narrow sidewalk

While I am walking, I noticed how narrow the sidewalk is getting, how my proximity to the street begins to rise. I notice the demolished sidewalks, and the weeds that pop out from the cracks of the cement. I notice how the gates to most of the homes along the sidewalk are open; nearly all of them. I am also walking by myself, and no one is walking around me.

At around 3:20 pm, I begin to approach the Kennedy express way. I halted. I glanced around for a sidewalk and found one that had been potentially 2 feet wide. While walking on the entirety of the cement path, I realized that there had been homeless people camping out on my right side. My hands grew sweaty, my heart was coming out of my chest, and my legs were shaking; I could not get ahold of myself. Never have I walked alone this close to a group of homeless people before. I was so frightened.

This should be illegal

Though I hate stereotypes, I still indulge in them; I wish I didn’t.

As I continue to walk, I noticed how the pavement begins to widen, and how a strip of red brick is plastered on the left side of the pavement. I look up and notice that I have entered Lincoln park.

Wider pavement

The buildings begin to look better maintained, cleaner. There are black light poles, decorated with a banner that says, “Lincoln Park”. I notice children walking amongst their parents, probably from school, considering they were wearing backpacks. I also see an abundance of women jogging alone, which is extremely rare. On the other side of the street I noticed a very well maintained building, with grass and an immense amount of trees surrounding it.

Beautiful outdoor dining area

At 3:35 pm, I notice a sushi place that is a perfect example of what a good dining experience could look like. Trees surround the fence, creating a nature-friendly atmosphere, black metal chairs and tables, that have intricate designs, with a finishing touch of dangling lights. Not to mention the pavement is a mosaic of circular brick, making guest peer at something that is unique while they eat.

At 3:40 pm, I arrive at the Quad, hoping to find a seat to enjoy the beautiful day.

When looking at my map, you can see that I depict how walkable the sidewalk is in a particular neighborhood by using the colors green (walkable) and red (non-walkable). I also showed the memorable places of the neighborhoods, the things that stood most out in my opinion. In Krygier and Wood’s, “Ce n’est pas le monde” they wrote, “Mapmakers proposition you with very different realities.” Indeed, A map always has a specific theme, it is always meant to point out something within a particular area. Thus, a map shows you the reality of the world, or rather specific areas, in a different perspective. My map is determined to show the power of wealth, how wealth can impact the environment of a community. With that my compass rose is significant in the way that it demonstrates how walkable a place is by, saying “walkable” or “not walkable”. This is of course analyzed on a spectrum at which I believe a place is walkable.

Map of Logan Square up to Lincoln Park. Compass rose shows North as walkable-ish, East as walkable, South as not very walkable, and West as kind of walkable.

--

--