The Unincorporated Areas in The Suburbs Near Chicago

Natalie Trytko
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
2 min readSep 12, 2018

On a windy Sunday morning, I began to walk around the neighborhood that I grew up in. The large willow trees that towered over the three-story apartment buildings, grass that seems to be just as long as strings of spaghetti noodles, and the merciful pond that consists of numerous wildlife. Around 9:40 am, a light brown chihuahua, which I reached over to pet, ferociously pounced at me like I was its prey. My eyes quickly peered at the long, sharp, mean teeth that were nearly an inch away from my face. The chihuahua’s eyes, one glaring at me and the other looking up at its owner, were all black. A demon it was.

Around an hour after my incident with the insidious puppy, I waked toward the large pond and witnessed a family of swans fiercely attack a goose. Never had I seen such aggression from such a gentle creature. The way is fluctuated its wings, the way its pupils widened, the way it screeched; nearly made my ears bleed. My blood surged throughout my body, immediately causing me to be alert. Please tell me why, at 10:40 am, this had to occur to me?

OBJECT 1: When I first began to walk, around 9:30, I had walked close to an apartment building, and as I looked around, I found some metal. It seemed to have fallen off the building. It was a filthy piece of grey metal, with bugs crawling around its edges and dirt permanently stuck on its body.

OBJECT 2: I decided to pick up a dead willow tree vine before I walked home. From where I was walking, there were a numerous amount of willow trees. The gentle vines swept across the pavement, sucking everyone and everything inside. The branch I had picked up was bent in half, its leaves barely holding onto the stems; it was destroyed.

--

--