Through the Eyes of a Tourist

Bilaal Siddiqui
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
3 min readOct 17, 2018

Do you remember what your first time in the city was like?

The John Hancock Center — A familiar sight.

As the title suggests, my map is going to be about the city of Chicago through the eyes of a tourist. The inspiration for my map comes from my relatives, who are visiting my family and I for a bit. Before they came, they explained how their only request was to be able to explore Chicago, and I found that to be a great opportunity for my whole family, as we would/will be (re)visiting some popular attractions, along with different museums and parks, that tourists (like we once were) would visit on a trip to downtown Chicago.

It was another rainy Saturday, but the Oak Street Beach was still nice.

Last week, when my parents had initially told me about the arrival of our relatives, my cousins and I took the opportunity to visit Chicago in advance, as we wanted to check out all the things that we could do, and all the places that we could visit. As a result, we ended up by Lake Shore Drive, as we just continued to drive/walk around for a while. As I looked around, I noticed how I had been around the area before (with our Discover class), and realized how their (my relatives’) experiences are going to be much more different than mine, as I saw the city as a (DePaul) student who had been to Chicago before, while this will be their first time in the city at all. That’s when I realized how insightful the following weekend is going to be for my map and I...

  • In response to Malchik, is walking a luxury, a privilege, a necessity, or a right, and why? What are the threats to walking? How does where you live influence how you live?
  • In response to Malchik, I would say that walking is both a necessity and a right. I believe that walking is a necessity because, even if you have other means of transportation, it is absolutely necessary and unavoidable to (eventually) walk from one point to another. For example, in my case, I live outside of Chicago, but visit frequently (due to university), as I find walking to be the most feasible way of going through the city. I also believe that walking is a right, as it is a socially acceptable thing to do, since their is nothing morally wrong about it, etc. But, with walking comes great responsibility, as there are several threats that walkers face on a day-to-day basis. Some examples of threats that people could face while walking include: racism, being catcalled/being followed by random people, speeding cars/drunk drivers (in Raquel Nelson’s case), having no room to walk, getting robbed, etc. Some people find those threats to be a lot more familiar/bigger than others though, as the places/areas that you live in highly influence how you live. For example, statistically, if a person were to live in Tokyo, then they have less threats to worry about, as it is considered one of the safest cities in the world. But, (again) statistically, if a person were to live in a run-down neighborhood in Loc Cabos, then they would have more threats to worry about, as Loc Cabos is considered one of the most dangerous cities in the world.
A rough sketch of what my map (with a lot less emptiness) will look like.

--

--