Twin Colors

IshanRodman
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
4 min readOct 11, 2018

What is a map? A map can be anything that describes an area. It can be a picture a paragraph anything. I think that many people now think of maps as simply an overhead view of an area with things marked down but there’s many more ways to depict a map. We make maps because we use maps as a way to figure out where we are and where we want to go. They are used mostly today as transportation assistance. We can see maps all over campus and the city. There are CTA maps that describe where the trains go and campus maps that describe the layout of campus. Our phones also have maps of the entire world stored inside of them. You can find the layout of any city within the entire world as long as it is on the map. Krygier and Wood however use maps differently. They use it to mark things in certain areas. Like the sidewalk graffiti map which marks where and what graffiti is around an area.

During my walk around Lincoln Park in search for two colors I decided to start with walking around campus. The first place I looked was the campus maps however the campus maps had slightly different colors so instead I walked across the street to the elementary school. I found a traffic cone which was close to the red that I needed. It was in the parking lot right across from my dorm.

It was pretty loud because there were kids all over. I assumed it was their recess. The school was the source for a lot of my photos because there were signs all over with different reds and blues so I took a lot of photos. Near the chicken coop was a photo of peppers that matched the color of my red. It was on a board describing what the area was used for. A little more past that was another sign with a shade of my red.

About halfway through my walk I realized almost everything I was seeing was reds with very little blues but luckily I found another sign that matched my blue at the end of trebes park. As well at the end of the park there were flower beds with one type of flower that almost perfectly matched with my red.

After passing the park I headed farther south and saw some spray paint on the ground that matched with my blue. A little further there was an alley with lots of blue recycling bins which I used to match with my blue some more. Then nearing the end of my walk I peeked around some cars and one of them happened to have a blue sign in the back window that perfectly matched my blue.

Failed Color Matches.

--

--