Walkin’ Down a Block or Two

Bilaal Siddiqui
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
4 min readOct 3, 2018

A walk through my favorite blocks in Chicago.

The Brown Line.

Everyday, either on my way to/from university, I have to walk through two blocks in Chicago. It felt like a pain at first, but as the weeks have gone by, it’s gotten much easier, and has become something that I actually look forward to. The walk from the Brown Line at Quincy to the Union Station (or vice versa, which would mean that I walk on W. Jackson Boulevard), on W. Adams Street, is enough time for me to go over how my day went, what I need to do for classes on the next day, and if there is anything that I need to do once I get home. Even after I organize my thoughts, I still have some time to listen to some music, talk on the phone, or just look around, as the street/two blocks have so many things happening on them!

But on Monday afternoon, I made sure to be extra aware of my surroundings for this assignment, as I tried to notice as much I could on my way to the Union Station...

If you don’t notice these buildings, then what can you notice?

Things that I saw:

  • Construction under the Brown Line.
  • Several places to eat, like McDonalds, Subway, Potbelly, and Dunkin’ Donuts.
  • Windows of those places, which showed people of different ages, mostly old people, enjoying their meals.
  • Lots of different types of people walking towards, and away from, the Union Station.
  • Jaywalkers that looked like they had no remorse for breaking a law.
  • Lots of different cars, especially taxis.
  • A couple of huge buildings.
  • Pigeons flying around.
  • Many signs that told people about the various parking lots.
  • Lots of pieces of gum wrappers, water bottles, and cigarette butts on the sidewalks.
In Chicago, jaywalking is a way of life.

Things that I heard:

  • Pigeons flying by.
  • People walking at different speeds; footsteps.
  • A woman talking on the phone, in a foreign language.
  • Tourists speaking to each other in their native tongue.
  • Various types of loud cars, especially a huge bus, driving by.
  • Doors of restaurants, which keep opening and closing.
  • Music from the cars driving by.
  • Homeless people asking for money.
  • Construction workers talking to each other about their day.
  • Some students from DePaul (I knew this as they were on the same train — from Fullerton — as I was) talking on their phones.
A homeless man.

Things that I smelled:

  • Gasoline from the cars driving by.
  • Different kinds of food, especially the french fries from McDonalds.
  • Coffee, especially from the people walking by, as most of them had a cup in their hands.
  • Some plants that were outside of a building.
  • People smoking cigarettes.
Plants outside of a building.

Overall, my walk lasted for about 5–10 minutes, as it usually just depends on the people that are walking around me, the traffic lights, etc. I definitely noticed a lot more than I had before, as I will try my best to keep an eye out for more stuff in the future…

A map of my walk.
Like I mentioned earlier, signs about parking lots were all around the place.
  • According to Jacobs, why are “punctuations” and “focal points” important to the life of the street and downtown? What are some “punctuations” and “focal points” around DePaul’s LPC and/or Loop campuses?
  • According to Jacobs, “punctuations” and “focal points” are important to the life of a street and downtown, as they give people, that are walking on foot, something to observe, appreciate, and enjoy on their respective journeys. Rather than just being forced to acknowledge that they are walking on a dull, old street, the various “punctuations” and “focal points” that are available (in cities) give people an incentive to keep going forward, and explore more of what is available to/for them. For example, some “punctuations” and “focal points” at DePaul’s Lincoln Park campus include a “Whole Foods,” the Egan statue outside of the Student Center, the Quad, the Pit, the Ray, St. Vincent’s Circle, etc. All of these serve as “punctuations” and “focal points” because they provide the whole campus with a “magic spillover,” and, “whether large or a detail,” act as landmarks that interest students, parents, locals, and other visiting guests.

--

--