Walking Chicago

Shengkai Yao
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
3 min readSep 6, 2018

On August 27th I took the first class of Walking Chicago, me and my group went to the Lakefront Trail.

The Lake Michigan is the biggest lake I saw. When the first I saw this Lake I thought It is sea because it is very huge. It is very beautiful me and my group members hang out there and I remember I told Lydia that I am worry about making friends because I am learning English and it is hard for me to communicate with other people.

On August 28th we Traveled to John Hancock Center, which is the third tallest building in Chicago. We went on the top of the building and I took this picture, which is my favorite picture because I can see other buildings and clouds combined together, and that makes the picture become very beautiful. That day was the longest day in that week so I was so tired because we walked a lot.

August 29th we went to the Hyde Park and we saw the university of Chicago and some historical buildings. I also got some history about Chicago and Hyde park. I got that the civil rights movement influenced Chicago a lot and this is one of the reason why segregation happened in Chicago. this was my favorite because it was a half day.

August 30th we went to the Rogers Park. In Howard I saw a lot of paintings and I never saw that many paintings before and each painting shows the history of the community and I choose one of the painting which is on the top, which shows that President Barack Obama has a high status in the hearts of Chicago people.

On September 2nd we went to the Garfield Park Conservatory and we did volunteer there. I remember I saw a lot of trash and bottles in the parking lot, which make me feel lucky about the place I was born and the good environment that my parents created for me. And I also know that I should protect the environment which I living in.

I am the person who don’t like walking, but after this week I feel I should walk more in the city to know more culture and history about the city and that will be a good education and I will get a lot of benefits.

--

--