Walking, Cities, and Lists

Alex Simadis
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
2 min readSep 12, 2018

Cities, walking, and lists are very related in a way. You obviously walk the city and are able to make many different lists and groups for the city. For example, you can go see a tour of archetecture in Chicago, seeing all the great buildings in the city. At the same time, some of those buildings are on lists for things like history, a certain style, or anything else. So much of the city can be on different lists because there are many parts of the city associated with multiple things. Walking allows to see all of this and make our own images of the city and help us put our lists about the city together. Looking from a skyscraper, we think we are seeing the city for what it is. But to truly understand, you have to go to a certain place and take everything in. There are many thing you cannot see from the sky, so walking to them lets you see much more.

Experience #1: My first experience was on September 6th, at 5:45 PM, in Lincoln Park. I smelled a lot of the food coming from the restaurants. I was walking around where I lived to see all the stores and other places around where I live. It was a long street lined with differnent stores with many cars passing up and down. It was pretty hot this day as well.

Experience #2: My second experience was on September 8th, at 4:15pm, also in Lincoln Park. I was walking to the school fitness center this day. I saw a lot of DePaul banners and signs on the way. The smell in the air was neuteral as there were not many restaurants on the way. The walk was not very colorful, a lot of grey in the concrete and the streets.

Object #1: During my first walk, I found a long piece of copper wiring. This was near the theatre school. It was a reflective and shiny copper coloring that did not have much of a smell. It was very smooth along the surface ut with a couple of scratches. This was the begginning of my walk around 5:20 PM.

Object #2: On my second walk, around 4:20, there was an empty old wallet by a large flower pot. It was a plain tri-fold brown wallet. It had a slight smell of leather but was pretty dirty. The wallet was not too smooth, as it had many scratches and marks. There was also nothing in it, so someone must have thrown it out when they got a new one.

--

--