Walking Edison Park

Nathalie Hoste
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
2 min readSep 12, 2018

Edison Park itself is a semi-busy neighborhood. The one place I can escape to for a little while. Bringing my journal to the park this time around was a little awkward, but it helped the experience. The first thing I noticed was the sprinkler and the smell of wet grass. and before I knew it, I was sitting in the park with my dog for almost half an hour.

Found: Flower and old Citronella stick

Examples of what I wrote down include:

People jogging

Cars passing by

Trees

Flowers falling from said trees

I found an old, cracked, Citronella stick and picked up one of the flowers. The wind is blowing and cicadas start to come out, so I begin to head home with my dog. I finish journaling as well.

Writing, lists, and cities go together perfectly when walking around because writing lists or journaling helps people connect to their cities even more. If a person does not look around when walking around the city and its neighborhoods, they will miss out on what is new, changing, and old. When walking, or even just riding the bus or driving, the absolute best way for me to take in the full view is looking around and using all five senses. Writing before and after walking keeps a person’s eyes and ears open. Chicago and even Edison Park are always changing. The lists always change, just like the city. That is because nothing is ever set in stone. That is why buildings get renovated, sidewalks get redone, and words get whited out and rewritten. Writing, walking, and making lists tie into what any city is based on and made of; impermanence.

Walking my dog back home

--

--