Walking Journal: Clark and Diversey

Jacob K
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
2 min readOct 2, 2018

What makes a city block walk-able in literal terms are the sidewalks. But in a more metaphorical sense, what makes a city block walk-able is the cultures and shops that dot the streets. If a city block is really lively with shops lining the sidewalks, then more people would be more inclined to walk there for the sake of walking because it’s a nice place to be. Now take a place like West North Avenue, a place I walked around a few weeks back. That area had sidewalks, sure, but it was completely devoid of shops, which made it more depressing and decrepit in nature. Both locations are walk-able in a literal sense, but I really was just going through West North Avenue to get where I was going, but while at Clark and Diversy, I felt like I could stay a while.

--

--