Walking Journal: Lincoln Park Loop + Final Project

Jacob K
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
2 min readOct 17, 2018

Walking, to me, is a necessity because there are a lot of people who don’t have cars, or other ways of transportation. We need sidewalks because it would be really dangerous for us all to be walking in the streets. There are a few threats that come with walking. You have the potential to be assaulted and/or robbed, but that usually doesn’t happen, and if it does, it’s only late at night. Sometimes where we live can influence how we live. For instance, if you live in a suburb where stores aren’t very close by, you are less likely walk, and you would prefer to stay home, while someone in a place where shops are closer, they would be more likely to walk to the place they need to go, because it’s closer. Location plays a big role in how we live our lives, it can determine when and where we walk to.

For my map project, I’ll be walking around the Lincoln Park area and marking all of the local restaurants. My proposition is that no matter where you are in Lincoln park, you don’t have to go to an already well known food establishment in order to have a good meal. My argument is that there are plenty of places around Lincoln park where you can get something good to eat that is not a well known restaurant. My mapping story is basically going to be me walking all around Lincoln Park and marking where the local eateries are, I might also try a few and say how they are. My Chicago story is going to be how all of these local places became a part of Lincoln Park and how they give this place character and charm. It will be an Adventure!

--

--