Wandering Chicago: A Multimedia Essay: Oak street Beach

Jacob K
walking chicago: a windy city atlas
5 min readSep 28, 2018

For my walk, I decided to walk from my dorm (Seton Hall) in Lincoln Park, to Oak Street Beach downtown. it was about 2.6 miles and it was a beautiful 65 degree day outside. As a left Seton Hall, I proceeded down Fullerton past many restaurants I know from being down there on several occasions. I then went down West Fullerton Avenue all the way to North Lake Shore Drive and the Chicago Lakefront Trail. I noticed many things during my walk. Some were beautiful, others were sad. Here are some of the highlights

I took this picture as I was walking down West Fullerton Avenue around 2:30. This statue depicts a man who is very fond of the Chicago Cubs, as he is holding a flag which brandishes their name. This Statue really symbolizes Chicago, and really, all of Illinois love for the Chicago Cubs. The statue seems very happy to be a fan, and so are most people who live in this great city.

I also took this picture while walking down West Fullerton Avenue, it was around 2:35. To me, this building represents how progressive Chicago really is. Everyday there are new buildings being built for one purpose or another. It really goes to show hoe much love everyone has for keeping this great city alive and healthy. While walking past this building, a lot of the sidewalks were obscured by traffic cones and construction vehicles, mainly bulldozers and cranes.

I took this heartbreaking picture while walking down West Fullerton Avenue around 2:45. it’s quite a gruesome scene. As you can see, a car has actually managed to crash so bad, that one of its wheels is on top of the hood of the bottom car. Thankfully, I noticed that both drivers outside, they looked unharmed and they were also taking pictures, most likely for their insurance companies. This is yet another reason I don’t drive in the city, heck, I don’t even have my license yet (mainly because I haven’t felt a need to drive). Driving in the city can be very dangerous, this is yet another reason why.

This picture was taken at the very end of West Fullerton Avenue before I turned onto North Lake Shore Drive and the Chicago Lakefront Trail. It depicts a tall metal beam in the middle of a small field. I am not sure why it is there, or what purpose it serves. My guess is that it is some sort of contemporary art piece. I’m not very sure of the meaning that the artists it trying to depict. There is no writing on it, or any sort of markings. It is near the Nature Museum, so maybe it could have something to do with that. Either way, it is very mysterious to me.

My final picture is a beautiful shot of Chicago’s famous skyline as seen from the Chicago Lakefront Trail. What is there to say about this picture that hasn’t been said a thousand times. Whenever I see that skyline, I am instantly in awe. The sheer scale of Chicago alone is truly a spectacle to behold! When you see how big Chicago is, I can sometimes feel tiny… insignificant… But at the same time I feel at home whenever I see this skyline. I was born and raised in the quiet suburbs outside of the the Chicago-land area, so while coming here to the big city and becoming a student at DePaul University has been an adjustment, I still know I have a home right here!

Here is a short video of when I arrived at Oak Street Beach. It’s a small patch of sand right by the John Hancock center. It is definitely one of the smaller beaches along Chicago’s magnificent lakefront. But at the same time, smaller beaches are not as crowded. Oak Street Beach in particular was very peaceful when I was there. I noticed a few people walking their dogs. I saw one man who was riding on a motorized skateboard, which I’ve always kind of wanted. I also saw another man riding on a motorized scooter which I thought was a little humorous, but also cool at the same time because I have always liked small motorized vehicles. Overall I saw a lot of interesting people around Oak street beach. It’s nice place… maybe I’ll go again sometime and swim in the lake.

Overall, my walk to Oak Street Beach was very pleasant. I got to enjoy the beautiful weather, and I also got to listen to some nice music along the way. While I’m walking, I often like to listen to soft, chill music, as it helps me clear my mind and let the stress loose. Walking along the Chicago Lakefront Trail was especially nice because I got to see the city from a whole different angle that I don’t normally see it from. I got to see some parts of Fullerton that I have not seen before, which is nice. I got to see some interesting statues and architecture. I have walked a lot since coming here, and I still haven’t seen all that this city has to offer. Oak street Beach was just a small portion, a drop in the bucket if you will. I still have a lot more of Chicago I want to see. I haven’t even revisited all of the museums on the museum campus. I also have not been to navy pier in a while. As I walk around Chicago, I will definitely notice a lot more things than I could before because it’s a new place and there is so much to see! 2.6 miles was nothing compared to what some other people walk, I saw a lot of people running along Chicago Lakefront Trail. They probably run a lot farther than I walked. But that’s OK because they are experiencing the city in their own way, just like I did today, and I am going to keep having experiences like this, and it will help enhance my perception of the city.

--

--