Reading Log

Amy Gomez
walking chicago + beyond
2 min readSep 28, 2020

On 9/26/2020 at 3:30 I took a walk around the neighborhood of Pilsen. I used to go to high school in Pilsen and that is why I decided to go walk around Pilsen. Me and my friend where walking along my high school when we came across some sunflowers, we stopped to take a photoshoot.

At 4:00 PM we started walking more deeply into Pilsen when I started to notice the gentrification in this neighborhood. Pilsen used to be filled of Latinos mostly Mexican, now Pilsen consists of many races and cultures. Pilsen has mostly Latinos and Whites living there.

At 4:10 we entered a thrift store where there was a lady who refused to put a mask on and was kicked out from the store. This made me realize that there are many unbelievable people out there who do not care about the rules and the safety of others.

At 4:35 we started heading back home when we came across a mural of one of my favorite celebreties named Selena Quintanilla. She is a very popular latina celebrity and a big inspiration to many.

--

--