Wandering Your Place // Christian Isho

Christian Isho
walking chicago + beyond
6 min readOct 8, 2020

October 3, 7:30 p.m:

Some things I have noticed during my walk was the amount of people increased since my last walk. Around this time not many people are out, however there was more than expected at 7:30. It makes me wonder if it were for an event or if there was a culture spirit day. I decided not to take pictures of the random people because of privacy reasons, but I took pictures of my surroundings, and this time I brought my little sister along to skateboard. Using her skateboard she would obviously be faster than me but she is still learning how to ride one, so shes still a beginner in terms of skateboarding. Now there are some similarities between skateboarding and walking as they both include a leg exercise. When walking you set a pace for yourself, some prefer a slow walk and some prefer a fast walk and the same can go with skateboarding. It has similar effects and similar meaning to each other. Skateboarding can be seen under the category of walking because of how much walking you do in it already. Walking is a symbol of leg strength and leg power, you set a destination to walk to or you walk with no destination and have a moment of peace with your mind, a moment of triumph with your life. Same can be said about skateboarding which makes the likes of each other similar. There is no point to skateboarding, however if you make a reason to do so, there becomes a point. Just like walking, there is no reason unless you make one. The importance of walking is just as important as skateboarding and it can be ones passion.

GIF
Long Walk (Walgreens)

7:50 p.m:

As we are passing the cultural streets we get near by a Dunkin Donuts and find some people enjoying their stay there. Seeing Dunkin Donuts always reminds me of the times I used to have. Back when eating breakfast in restaurants was very much able to do. It brought so much joy to me and others having a place to eat and having fun. This place in the night was much brighter than in the morning due to it having led lights shine up. In the night the LED lights look much better than having it on in the morning since it doesn’t reflect much light back. With this being the case it brings in more sense of neon colors introducing themselves and their meanings in a walk. When we see bright lights in the dark we tend to be more attracted to them, opposed to bland colorless daylight, where everything is visible and nothing stands out as much. I guess that’s one of the standards of a night walk, is having the ability to notice things much more. Every store we passed in a sense was, “attractive” and noticeable. It had pizzazz to it, made the scenery much more out standing than the broad daylight. Walking around you are also able to see more of the insides of a store. You can easily notice if it is a shop, a bar, or even a home. It’s crazy how much you are able to see because nothing else stands out and observing it in the night makes you see much more than in the day. I would go on and say that walking in the night helps you notice more things. I was able to notice the people around me, but notice my surroundings much better than before. Some people are scared to go out in the night, for good reasons, and should not be forced to do so, but I think after a night walk I have seen a lot more than things I would see in the morning. The morning might have more outsiders, but the night has more culture and is a show off.

8:02 p.m:

One of the reasons I got to go on a walk was to get to Walgreens and buy some medicine on the way. However me and my sister also took it for a pit stop and bought some Kit Kat. As I walked into the Walgreens I noticed how the amount of customers was not very much different opposed to the amount in the morning. I would assume this would be because it’s a convenience store and it’s needed throughout the day no matter what. As I walk through the aisles I notice how organized the place is. It has shelves stocked, drinks, food, and health products all in its correct place. One thing else that I noticed is that it has Halloween candy in a new aisle. It brings forth their marketing strategy and business related consumers, sales, and management. To me who sees this it isn’t as impressive but smart because it brings in lots of customers to buy your products. It brought me to my attention how we were going to buy medicine but got distracted by the Halloween materials on the shelfs. The way marketing works is trickery, but it works. I get fascinated by this and want to learn more about what really goes on in other worlds, it really makes me interested in other people’s lives, and find out their meaning to walking. What they think walking as a symbol means? As the more I walk in the Walgreens, the more closer I get to the health aisle. We bought sleeping gummies for my sister and mother since they have hard times sleeping now and need help. These are things that will be useful in their short term goals. Another thing I noticed was the workers. The workers that work there are reorganizing and the shelfs to make it clean. On top of that there weren’t many pharmacy workers. Pharmacy is always stacked in customers in need but it was empty this time around. Noticing this, the place was still normal, even without the pharmacy which is mind boggling because when working a business you want customers and customers are coming in and out nearly every hour to minutes. The business world is something to be pondered on and be thought of. When leaving the place I took some extra pictures of my surroundings as well.

HistoryPin:

I decided to use historypin and look at the block near me, and I noticed how the block of Devon has changed over the years. Due to my prior knowledge of other countries, I noticed that the block had street vendors actually cover up the streets, just like other middle eastern countries, and that they treated the place like its their own home! Now looking at it, it became a place with a bunch of small Indian businesses surrounding the side walk, and leaving the streets to the cars. But it explains why the streets feel so small when entering that area.

Map:

--

--