Week 8

Amy Gomez
walking chicago + beyond
2 min readNov 2, 2020

Question:

Krieger and Wood define maps as propositions which means that the maps show us images of certain places and pinpoints of the place. It is a graphic form of showing us where a location is. They also say that maps show different categories in which they are found in a certain place which makes someone wonder if those certain things are really there. Observing the maps that depicts Chicago does not change my understanding just because it shows the categories in Chicago for example how the south side is much different than the north side because of wealth and race.We make maps so we can know where certain places or things are located and to see how far away they are or to see how things are divided into categories. Maps are very political because it shows how a place is divided. For example Chicago is mostly divided because of race or wealth. Most wealthy people live on the north side of Chicago and if not in downtown Chicago and the variety of those people are white. Most of the people who are less wealthy live on the south side and most of those people are either black people or hispanic people.

(Word count 203)

Free Writing:

I have lived in my neighborhood, Little Village, my whole life although I did live on the opposite side of my street for about 12 years until I moved out into another house in the same block which i have been living in for about 7 years now. Most of my family lives in the same block as me that is why we live in this neighborhood. The closest transportation stop is the cta 21 bus which is on Cermak and Alabany, it is about 2 blocks away from my house. I would take that bus every day to get to my highschool (Benito Juarez). This bus stop wouldn’t be that busy. The nearest public park is a little village park which is about 3 blocks away from my house and it is always busy, there’s a lot of soccer games that go on during the weekends and a lot of skaters and basketball players go to that park. The nearest library is 3 blocks away from me. They opened that library when I was in 5th grade, that library is where a lot of events are held, every 4 years they have an event to go vote for our new president. If I have to go to an ATM, the bank is about 2 blocks away from my house, and if I have to run errands there is a small grocery store in front of the bank.

(Word count 241)

--

--