A Curious Walk

Caleb Ainsworth
Walking Chicago: Foot Stories
5 min readSep 19, 2023

Field Notes:

We used the Randonautic app because I feel uncomfortable following a stranger. It decided to take us to an industrial-looking area right next to the Chicago river.

Masses of students rush by us as we stand to the side, staring at our phones trying to figure out where we’re going. We zig-zagged for a bit trying to get our bearings and stay out of the students’ ways before heading straight south towards our destination. I noticed that as we transitioned from the Lincoln Park Campus to the residential streets nearby, the constant buzz of students and cars fell away to quiet dog walkers. I noted that it was almost uncanny how quiet these streets were compared to the cacophony of noise I’m used to in the loop and even on the Lincoln Park Campus.

I noticed this tree leaning towards the road. It made me wonder just how long this tree has been growing here for and whether or not it’s older than these buildings and the people inhabiting them. I also wonder what the city does to these massive trees when they die to ensure they don’t destroy the street or property.

I also noted that it wasn’t just the sound that caused the ambiance to change. Although there are a lot of nice cars and buildings in the Lincoln Park Campus, every car, house, and yard on these residential streets is spotless. It’s concerning to me how groomed these neighborhoods look because I wonder what used to be here. The people here seem to be completely in their own world. I wonder what it’s like to be rich and have different stressors.

There was a cute metal cow on the corner of this street. I wonder how old it is — it’s really rusty but rust can form fast so I’m unsure. Maybe it’s supposed to look rusty.

As we left the embrace of these cozy houses, we were immediately met with masses of cars as people rushed home from work. The constant buzz of cars had returned, but the sidewalks remained empty. The sidewalk quickly became unkempt, causing me to have to focus more on avoiding potholes and large plants than focusing on the buildings. What I did notice about the buildings was that they were all old brick, though they all looked abandoned or repurposed. I wonder what used to be here. I also notice massive open spaces that are walled off by “No Trespassing” signs and gates. It looks like a massive gravel parking lot, though there are so many plants that I’m unsure how long it’s been abandoned. In the distance I can see a makeshift tent made with a large tarp. I wonder if someone has made this space their yard.

There’s a massive mattress on the sidewalk behind these buildings. There’s also a cat tree next to it and both are in fairly good condition. I wonder why someone would risk losing a mattress in good condition like that by leaving it outside.

I look around and notice zero pedestrians. Everyone around us is either driving a vehicle or working behind the buildings, unloading and loading supplies. We cross some train tracks that are out of use and running parallel to the river. I wonder what these trains carried and what focus this industrial district had.I continue to look at the abandoned area and notice what appears to be a small, elevated shack. I can only catch a view of the whole thing between a couple of trees, so I can’t make out much more than it being small and decrepit. I wonder what its original purpose was and if it is serving anyone a purpose today such as shelter.

I hope someone is making good use of that shack and all the land that’s rotting nearby. I personally believe that homelessness is a major issue that plagues cities throughout America. I wish I knew more about how these people could be efficiently and equally helped out of their situation and back onto their feet. I feel like areas like this that are wasting away could be used to help get people off the streets and the help that they need so that they can make forward progress.

As we left this industrial area, I noticed that the masses of cars died away and we were again walking through relatively quiet and peaceful streets lined with fancy cars. I also noticed a spinning hot dog sign for Fatso’s. I remember seeing this sign out the window of the car when driving through the city one time as a child. The sidewalks became perfectly aligned and weedless as we walked. I noticed a lot more people out on leisure walks and kids playing at the nearby park. It kindled a feeling of community. As DePaul buildings and students came back into sight, I noticed some chickens and ducks in a pen on the sidewalk. (849)

I was paying attention to the fancy cars in the school parking lot when I noticed a sign saying not to feed the chickens and ducks. It doesn’t say I can’t pet them though…

Map:

Reading Journal:

Prompt: In “Paris, or Botanzing the Asphalt,” Rebecca Solnit quotes Walter Benjamin who writes, “But to lose oneself in a city — as one loses oneself in a forest — that calls for a quite a different schooling” (p. 255). What is the meaning of “losing oneself in the city?” Have you ever lost yourself in this sense? If so, describe your experience. What do you remember?

I think that it is easy to lose yourself in thought while walking whether it be in a forest or on a busy street. When you are walking without the stress of getting somewhere on time, you allow yourself to relax and explore thoughts that might have been overshadowed during a busy day. On any given day, we have so many responsibilities that can cloud our minds, but while taking a leisurely walk, suddenly you realize that you are lost in a world of things to notice that had been overlooked before. I have always loved going on nature walks, and now that I am in the city I greatly enjoy going on walks through the bustling streets. There are always so many things to notice such as the knocking of a woodpecker or the power tools of a construction worker. No matter what it is that you notice, when there are no other stresses clogging one’s mind, you open the ability to explore and investigate the little things that you notice. I personally love to get lost watching and listening to quickly flowing water.

--

--