A Field Guide and Essay for A City Newbie

Devin Hawkins
Walking Chicago: Foot Stories
3 min readOct 10, 2023

I have thought about what story I want to tell for a while. I have thought about the small-town girl in a big city or something that has to do with social justice. After thinking about it, I want my story to be about discovering the city and falling in love with my new home. I want people to see how moving somewhere new and starting a new adventure is not something that has to be hated or feared, it can be something joyful and exciting. I want to pull from the readings to show how exciting walking around and exploring can be. I would like my essay to describe how being a “flâneuse” allows you to see the city in a new light. You can explore the city as a woman. I want to explain and show how you can wander around and get lost as a woman in the city. I want the readings to also show how the city is for everyone who lives here, new and old. Overall, I want my essay to be uplifting and positive. I want it to show how exciting moving to a new place can be and how comforting it can be to learn about your new home.

Word Count: 208

A picture of the Fullerton train station.

I think I want my field guide to be fun and exciting. I would like to add lots of colorful pictures from my walks to show how walking can be fun. I want my field guide to be inviting and show that exploring various parts of the city is interesting. I want my field guide to compliment my essay and emphasize loving where you live. I want my guide to show how. I want the cover to be different, maybe dark and ominous. To show that you should not judge a book by its cover. Not everything should be scary, we should have an open mind when we start new things. I want the guide to be a mystery but upon opening it, it is exciting, interesting, and welcoming. All in all, I have a good idea of what I want my field guide to looks like. I know that I want my guide to be different and mysterious as well as inviting and exciting.

Word Count: 165

Question: What do maps show us? Why are maps important?

Maps show us a lot. Maps show us how people see the city and how people want to see the city. Maps show us new places to go. They show us directions to places we want to visit or need to visit. The Folded Map Project shows us the same street addresses but different directions, north and south, and different homes and people. It goes to show how maps show us the world around us. Maps are important for so many reasons. One reason is that they show us our neighbors and our neighborhoods. Maps show us the world around us from different perspectives. Some show us restaurants, businesses, parks, and the list of things that maps show goes on and on. Maps are a way for people to get from place to place, they show us things only the map makers would see. Maps like the Folded Map Project show us maps of the people who live in these neighborhoods.

Word Count: 161

--

--