City of Possibility+ Field Guide

fairflight25
Walking Chicago: Foot Stories
3 min readOct 11, 2023

QUESTION: How do racial and ethnic demographics of an area influence the residents’ access to resources?

As uncomfortable as it is to acknowledge, statistics paint a clear picture of how racial and ethnic categories affect an area. The Folded Map project shows that some of the best schools, libraries, and hospitals are located in majority-white areas. This can be attributed to segregation and redlining, which forced people of color into certain areas. Local governments are less likely to invest money in those communities, so libraries and parks are less likely to be built. Public spaces are important, so people have a place to go outside of their home or work environment. The disparity in school funding means that neighborhoods of color have worse schools. Even grocery stores are less common. There are people who cannot easily go buy essential groceries and have to rely on convenience stores or fast food, which may not be as healthy. People have to spend more time finding a place to buy shoes or get their car fixed, which makes life more difficult (162).

MY STORY

After spending some time in the city, I have been surprised by how normal life feels. The tall buildings around me don’t feel so towering anymore, and a trip on the CTA trains feels average. I want my story to show that even if you come from somewhere very different, you can adjust to a new life. My experiences wandering the city have allowed me to see things I couldn’t back in a town I knew so well. The thing about a city so big is that you really can’t ever know the entire place. People have lived in Chicago their whole lives and still haven’t visited whole neighborhoods. That sense of wonder is something I would like to capture as I describe just walking down unfamiliar streets and knowing there will always be more to see. One thing I have really enjoyed in the city is being an unknown person. Back at home, I would always know I might run into someone I know, but living in the city, that is less likely. That sense of freedom has made me feel more open to having new experiences and going places by myself because no one cares who I am or where I’m going. I can do what I want, and if I want to go somewhere, I can probably find it somewhere (223).

A picture I took walking alone at night on a bridge toward the Roosevelt CTA Station.

FIELD GUIDE

I want my guide to come from the perspective of someone like myself, who grew up in the suburbs and is new to being in a city. I want to be able to have a light-hearted approach that focuses on the practical aspects of adjusting to a new environment. For example, I found the public transport system to be extremely intimidating, so I want to have a guide that breaks down how it works for a beginner. I would include not only the basics such as how to buy a ticket or use a pass, but also advice on the different lines. There are a lot of differences between them, so I would talk about which lines are faster or how to understand the connections between them. I would also include safety as a theme in my field guide, such as things I have done that have made me feel safer and things people would want to avoid or not worry about as much (164).

--

--