Project Brainstorming

Caleb Ainsworth
Walking Chicago: Foot Stories
3 min readOct 10, 2023

Reading Journal:

If we walk with intention, are we still a flaneur? A flaneur is someone who walks without purpose and observes their surroundings aimlessly. However, I would like to argue that all flaneurs are walking with some intent whether it be for enjoyment, exercise, or just to pass the time. There is some reason why they are drawn back to go on walks. So in my mind, if a flaneur is drawn to continue going on walks, they must be getting something out of it. Therefore, I do think that a flaneur can walk with an intention and perhaps even a destination, as long as they are able to find complete mindfulness on the walk. I do not think that this is always possible, for example, if you are in a rush to get to class on time, you do not have the capacity to be mindful or observant. At the same time, I believe that if you have three hours between classes and decide to take a long and leisurely walk with the goal of ending up in your class, you can still be a flaneur as long as you find mindfulness during your walk. (195)

Essay Brainstorming:

I want to tell the anxious individual’s story. I have had a severe anxiety disorder my entire life and it certainly caused me to have a rough transition into this new city environment. I am very shy and nervous about forming new connections and becoming familiar with new places, so coming somewhere new has challenged me in a lot of ways. Discover Chicago week was very difficult for me, I was overwhelmed with anxiety and fear, but the walking certainly helped. Walking has always been an important activity to me because not only do I enjoy it, but it allows me to be mindful while also exercising. Mindfulness is something that I strive to find every day, my brain is constantly running with anxiety, but when I walk and am able to disconnect my thoughts, I am able to calm my mind and think much more clearly. Additionally, I believe that physical activity such as walking releases endorphins in the brain that uplift mood and soothe anxiety. In both being mindful and exercising on walks, I have always been able to calm myself and regulate my emotions while also enjoying myself. I think that walking whether it be to calm oneself or just for leisure, is immensely rewarding and healthy. (210)

I want to tell the small stories that go unnoticed by the majority

Field Guide Brainstorming:

I have not had the time to explore all of Chicago, but I have been exploring the area around the University Center where I live in the loop. I have also been able to explore the Lincoln Park Campus and would like to explore the areas between these two campuses before finishing this project. I would like to make a field guide that familiarizes the reader with the Loop Campus, the Lincoln Park Campus, and the area between them. This is where I, and most other students will be spending the majority of their time, therefore, I think that covering these areas will help to familiarize the reader with the place they will be most of the time. With all the anxiety and insecurity I felt during the first month of learning these areas, I hope that this guide will help to prepare others for the difficult transition. I want there to be a focus on using walking to relax the mind and notice things that might otherwise go unnoticed. (170)

--

--