The Whole Stroll of Old and Gold

Joseph k
Walking Chicago: Foot Stories
9 min readSep 27, 2023

Joseph Kim — September 23, 2023

Introduction: The whole stroll of Old and Gold may be a tongue twister or confusing to comprehend, but it has a significant meaning. To dignify this hike, It all started on a Monday morning at 11am sharp. To walk you through, I exited seton hall abruptly to a path of unknown. To describe my journey, it was tiring, peaceful, and an altered view of Chicago I’ve never seen. A journey that would feed my interest in discovering Chicago.

Start Time: 11:00am — 12:45pm

Total: 1 hour and 45 min / 2.8 miles / 8,650 steps

First Stop: W Fullerton Ave (10 minutes / 11:00–11:10)

W Fullerton is a path I’ve walked before, but this time I had all my senses open to observe everything around me. I passed by the train system alongside the DePaul Art Museum. Throughout the walk I’d noticed that it must have rained in the morning, but by the time I started walking the rain had almost dried up and the sun was beaming. I noticed along the street, the townhouses with all different colors and structures that showed the uniqueness that can later be distinguished from one another.

Representation of Townhomes

Second Stop: N Lincoln Ave (40 minutes / 11:10–11:50)

After turning from W Fullerton, I was continuing my path to a more lively area. I had proceeded crossing stores like Coldstone Creamery, Pure Green, Equinox, Blue Fin Sushi, Philz Coffee, and many more on that strip. By around 11:15, I had crossed the street and made my way into Philz Coffee. I ordered an Medium Iced Cold Brew, costing a full $7 (which was insane). I left at around 11:20. I proceeded on my walk, and there I had passed a Velvet Taco. To be transparent, this was one of the most peaceful, enjoyable walks I’d ever gone on. The slight winds combined with the shining sun had an impeccable effect on my mood. It felt like the winds were caressing my face with its warm hands from the sun. There was a diner I passed called Dash Diner with the windows open where I saw 3 ladies enjoying their meal, it was pancakes and sandwiches I believe.

Inside Philz Coffee (left) Along sidewalk, Diet coke truck (middle) Medium Iced Cold Brew (right)

By this time, I was still on Lincoln but I was on the intersected streets of Lincoln and Webster. After crossing the street, this new sidewalk street felt different. I noticed right when I walked along it that it was a whole new vibe. The trees were covering the sun and were along these beautiful homes paired with the sounds of birds. Since the rain had poured an hour ago, the air smelt refreshing, watching as the cars line up on the sidewalk representing a different person with their different lives. I noticed that there was a lot of people on runs or walking their dogs. After a bit on N Lincoln, the trees weren’t as prevalent, and the towering buildings were becoming in view. Leaves brushing up against the wind, colors changing to show a upcoming change in seasons. There were a strip of apartments along N Lincoln with tons of open space, balconies, and garages. A man passed by with 2 different poodles, one white and one black with the noise of construction getting in the way. Vespas are along the sidewalk, parked and in peace. Finishing off, N Lincoln is so peaceful.

Third Stop: N Stockholm Dr (20 minutes / 11:50–12:10)

After N Lincoln, I turned into a park after the streetlights. In the distance was a lakefront but this area was mainly grasslands. The first thing I notice was 2 or 3 pigeons drinking water from a puddle. This park had also felt content and calm. The birds continued to chirp while the warm sunlight was shining, the trees and grass were a vibrant green showcasing its health. Continuing on the path, I crossed a red barn close to the Lincoln Park Zoo. Along the street N Stockholm Dr, I continued on the trail right beside it. There was so much open space and on the opposite side of the trail there were a line of trees along the sidewalk. In chicago, there are not as much greenery, so experiencing so much was eye-opening. The trees felt like they were providing me with the wind and shielding me from the sun. Roughly only 5 people on the trail, but mostly everyone in the park were with their dogs. The view of the skyline buildings were able to be seen by the park. In the trail, I had crossed a statue of Benjamin Franklin shining big and tall over a circular pond. I took a picture and passed it, following a tunnel in the trail. The tunnel was under the street of N La Salle Dr. I mainly continued on the trail until I noticed a tomb with a description of 50 tons. Along the trail there were many signs to show the significant history of the park. I had stumbled upon the Chicago History Museum and it was my first time seeing it. On the trail in front of the museum, there were artistic signs lined up representing different scenarios. Each were sculptural situations like 2 people playing chess, an artist painting, and a band. I took a picture in front of the museum and continued onto my path. Along the side of the museum and on the trail were flowers that radiated their smell of pollen. This is when I noticed the Latin School of Chicago and turned right onto N Dearborn Pkwy.

Fourth Stop: N Dearborn Pkwy (35 minutes / 12:10–12:45)

On the beginning of N Dearborn, there laid a modern architecural building called The Constellation. This street consisted of many townhomes (mainly owned by the Latin School) with benches along the entrances. There was a home with a cool entrance of stairs in a curvature symmetrical design leading up to a townhouse’s door. Since many of the townhouses were in good maintenance, there were flower beds along the sidewalk filling the air with it’s fresh rich smell. This walk felt like a dream with more birds chirping than people walking. This street did feel a bit higher class, with its modern buildings and constant construction. Again, the many trees along the street covered the suns light and provided a fresh cool breeze. I passed the RH store/building that had statues of women built into the sides of the wall.

While I continued my journey, I continued straight on N Dearborn, crossing Division st. It was definitely more lively with a Starbucks, Dentology, and a entertainment building named Mothers. Still going straight, I passed by a cute patio building called La Storia, I took a picture and followed straight. Then I passed Elm street with the smell of breakfast and bacon filling my nose. Cars honking and passing by while I strolled across the street. At 12:27, I stopped at a 7/11 to go to the bathroom but quickly left since there was none available. I noticed a school bus passing along me while I was walking against these high skyscraper buildings. At around 12:33, I passed the Washington Square Park, and there I saw a fountain sitting at the middle and people sitting on the benches. The air felt nice and wasn’t cold, and the sun beaming countered each other. I didn’t enter the park and just watched from afar continuing my path along Dearborn, passing by Chicago’s French Cultural and Learning Center. I also passed by Sherry Koppel Interior Design underneath a townhome.

Boomerang and Audio Clip:

Map:

Quotational Readings:

“We are making our way through the city to find a knife, but I don’t know that yet. So far we are drifting, the destination a surprise” (Rooney) — This quote specifically relates to my path that was taken throughout my journey. There was no destination but my interests and tasks to complete a walk led me the way. Drifting through the city made me appreciate the things around me, and as I explained many students also figured that these were important processes.

“She would leave her house, taking care not to be recognized” (Solnit) — This quote was significant in my opinion because that related to me personally. It didn’t matter whatever condition, but I would take pride into showing up well whether someone would recognize me or not. I think this is specifically related to people whom are homebodies. Who take pride in the little moments they spend outside their home.

“There’s something so attractive about wandering aimlessly through the city, taking it all in” (Radical Flâneuserie) — This quote specifically related to my discoveries during my journey. Before, I had dreaded going on a 2–3 mile walk but during it, I found peace in walking with no destination. It was eye-opening to have the ability to discover new places, streets, or nature in the city just from wandering around. Similarily, it was freeing to take myself anywhere based on how I was feeling and settling it in my mind.

Couch Tomb Historical Information: https://www.chicagoparkdistrict.com/parks-facilities/couch-tomb-artwork#:~:text=The%20Couch%20Tomb%20is%20the,1800%E2%80%931892)%20in%201836.

Conclusion: This is the finale of my walk. After I passed the last of the townhomes of Dearborn Pkwy, there were huge buildings which then. solidified that it should be my end of my journey. Throughout this walk I had developed more peace during it compared to my 4 weeks in Chicago. Before, I believed this walk would be an inconvience, but I felt very joyful and loved every second of my journey. I didn’t know where I was going most of the time, but the townhomes led me into a path of nature when I didn’t even know was prevalent in Chicago. I don’t know if doing my journey on Monday had any effect but there was so little people on my path. I enjoyed every second of me with nature and my thoughts. To reflect, I understood the importance of truly walking in Chicago without a destination, to be live in the moment, and to use all your senses to take in the world around you. There’s nothing I disliked about this walk other than I wish there was nothing stopping me from continuing. Ending off my journey, I felt it was the most beneficial walk I had ever walked upon and I hope to do another one soon.

--

--