walking + reading 10.18

walking chicago essay (composition #1)

aiko rayos del sol
Walking Chicago: Foot Stories
1 min readOct 25, 2023

--

- To prepare for my essay I read all my old submissions on medium to see what my overall theme that I kept writing about. I took a million pictures during immersion week so I am set on photos. My quote that I am adding is from Walking After Midnight, Rebecca Solnit writes how “legal measures, social mores subscribed to by both men and women, the threat implicit in sexual harassment, and rape itself have all limited women’s ability to walk where and when they wished” I want to write how walking as a women brings one out of their comfort zone. Feelings of discomfort and threat are not comforting at all, and I will show how I learned to deal with those feelings by walking and keeping myself safe.

field guide (composition #2)

For my field guide I want to show the things that got me out of my comfort zone and the art that I saw. I want to write about the murals and how I learned the CTA works. I want to draw a map of these places and show what I learned.

--

--