10/12 Walking Journal

Angie Li
walking chicago: history in footsteps
4 min readOct 12, 2022

This week, I took a trip downtown and stopped at a public place I found interesting. I took the red line down to Chicago and State, and decided to walk towards the water. On my way down E Chicago Ave., I saw a Northwestern building that looked very pretty to me and decided this is where I was going to stay for my walk this week.

I noticed students walking around as this is a part of the Northwestern Campus. I saw the school of professional studies, and I was in love with the architecture of the building. The white buildings covered in greenery made it a beautiful scene to me.

This public space is walkable, as it is a campus, and the scenery is just so impressive. With the lake down the street and full of greenery on the pathways, it makes it an enjoyable experience for this.

The archways and architectural structures made me think back to my time in high school where I took AP Art History, and we had to analyze many structures and sacred buildings on their architecture. Northwestern incorporates a gothic style in their buildings, which just happens to be one of my favorite styles of art. The archways remind me of the Royal Portal of the Chartres Cathedral, one of the pieces included in the 250. It is fascinating how many connections I am able to make with just one walk, and this never fails to amaze me.

Being on the Northwestern campus reminded me of one of my close friends back home, Elsa, whose dream school was Northwestern. She now attends Texas A&M University, and hopes to study at Northwestern for her masters degree in engerninning.

As I passed the School of Law, I noticed how it was engraved into the stone of the building. With intricate designs on top, it makes me wonder how long this took, considering it was founded in the late 1800’s. Overall, I think this space does not need improvement, as I enjoyed my time here very much.

Research a piece of public art that you have come across while walking in Chicago. What is the history of this piece of public art? Who is the artist? What is the purpose of the artwork? What is the meaning of the artwork? Where is the artwork located? In which neighborhood and/or community area? Was it the artwork commissioned? By whom? Why? What materials were used in creating the artwork? What have others written about the artwork?

A piece of public art that I had come across while walking in Chicago that is most memorable to me is Cloud Gate, also known as The Bean. I had visited this multiple times, but the most memorable was the first time I had ever been to Chicago. I went with my family, and it will always remind me of that one trip. It was inspired by liquid mercury and done by Anish Kapoor, an Indian British sculptor. It was commissioned by funds from private donors and unveiled in 2004. Located in Millennium Park, it is one of the most known sculptures when the word Chicago is brought up. It got the nickname the beam due to its shape, but is called cloud gate because it allows for 80% of the sky to be reflected down onto it. It is made from stainless steel pieces that come together to make a smooth and seamless surface when welded together. (158)

--

--