10/19 Walking Journal

Angie Li
walking chicago: history in footsteps
3 min readOct 19, 2022

This week we were instructed to go for a walk to brainstorm ideas for our final project. For my walk, I decided to go and visit Wicker Park, one of the places we visited during immersion week. I walked along the streets this time, and not in the direction of the actual park, and noticed all the stores and people shopping. Surprisingly, I found an Urban Outfitters here, and it instantly reminded me of working there back home. I think back to talking with my manager about transferring, and remembered our merchandiser back in Dallas knew the one here in Chicago, and it was the one that works at Wicker Park. This day also happens to also be my favorite coworker’s birthday, and that on top of seeing another Urban, it added onto this feeling of homesickness I immediately got. When thinking about what I want to talk about in this final project and what story I want to tell, one immediately comes to mind. Ever since moving to Chicago from Texas, and even in the weeks leading up to moving here, I have been faced with the feeling of homesickness and feeling so lost with myself. From facing pretty traumatic events as well in the short amount of time I have been here, I know I would want to talk about my experiences here and how this class gave me a new perspective on Chicago and how my ideas of it have changed since moving here.

Wicker Park & Urban Outfitters

Reading question

Why are people so quick to judge and believe in stereotypes?

When thinking about this question, I approach it in two ways. The first one being, your perception of others and your immediate response to certain topics has a lot to do with where you are from and where you grew up. While this may sound like I am contradicting what I am saying by generalizing people into this belief, my own personal experiences allow me to believe this. A lot of your character and how to handle things comes from what you were surrounded by growing up, and for most people that does not change as you get older. If they come from an environment that is like that, then they are more likely to be like that as well. Another way I see why people would be quick to believe in stereotypes is they themselves do not know any better. If they have never got a chance to experience whatever is being said, they would not know any better than to believe what the stereotype is.

--

--