An Accidental Trip To Lakeview

Georgia Reese
walking chicago: history in footsteps
3 min readSep 14, 2022

Georgia Reese

Lakeview

3:18pm

As soon as I stepped off of the train I noticed the sidewalk to the left was blocked due to construction, and I thought it was weird that it smelled very strongly of soap.

As I looked down I noticed the ground was wet with soap from the construction. I have never seen soap around construction before.

3:20pm

I was hungry and I could not help stopping to get a small snack. So I bought a bacon, cheddar, chive biscuit from a random bakery/coffee shop. It was really good. The coffee shop was completely silent.

3:25pm

As I was walking I overheard what I think was a drug deal, obviously I’m not sure, but still. A few steps later a woman asked for money for the homeless, but I rarely carry cash on me so I told her I did not have any.

3:28pm

I was noticing a lot of cannabis dispensaries and I almost fell when I stopped paying attention and tripped over some construction. I also noticed a lot of pride flags and decorations around the buildings and streets.

3:32pm

I could not help but stop and go shopping in the Ragstock. But I did not spend any money, which is a first for me. But as I left the Ragstock I noticed the sidewalk was completely destroyed from construction on both sides of the road and I wondered how people could get past the Ragstock if there was nothing but a busy road to walk on.

3:35pm

On my way back to the L, I realized that as I started my trip to what I believed to be Boystown I made a wrong turn and I actually had just walked all the way through Lakeview.

My Objects:

I have the bag that my biscuit came in. I honestly do not know the name of the bakery, but I would describe it as rustic, quiet, modern, and it smelled so amazing in the bakery area. The other object I took was a magazine I found on the stairs leading out of the Ragstock. I think it’s an art magazine, but there was just a pile of them on the stairs so I took one.

The significance of this phrase is that it emphasizes how everyone has their own goals, stories, and lives. All of the people that Turnbull had passed, noticed, documented, photographed, etc. on his walk, all have their own reasons to also be walking so they disregard him. The people disregarding Turnbull is a stark contrast to the intense observation that Turnbull is giving to the people he passes. The meaning of disregarding and regarding are to have, or not have, a significant concern or thought about someone or something. Disregard and regard can also mean to have, or not have, concern for someone; as in, not caring and tossing aside something or someone. Turnbull uses a word that has a somewhat negative diction in order to make sure the phrase is signified in the reader’s mind. Disregarding relates to Solnit’s descriptions of a solitary urban walker because each walker having their own destinations, disregarding others, is a point that Turnbull also made.

--

--