An Immersive Week in Chicago

If you had asked me what Chicago was like a few weeks ago I would have given you three words: big, scary, and intimidating. After telling my family I was going to attend college in Chicago I received many “congratulations” yet it was always followed by “you better be safe down there”. I internalized their fear of the city, but during this week I was exposed to the real sides of Chicago, not the sides that you hear on the news. I was able to see different neighborhoods, meet people who have lived in Chicago forever, and understand the history rooted in every building.

John Hancock Building View

Somehow this terrifying, new city was transformed into a place I could see myself calling home.

Throughout our time this week, we visited The John Hancock Building, Gold Coast, Old Town, Pilsen, and more. Each place was completely different from each other and they all offered different insights to the city.

First we started in the John Hancock Building where we saw the city from a birds eye view. This view is exactly what I envisioned when thinking about Chicago: tall buildings, vast and intimidating. From the top of the Hancock building, the city went on for miles and you could see the grid-like structure of the city. It was comforting to know that though it may seem chaotic while on the streets, the city is organized in a simple way. Also from above, everything was peaceful. You couldn’t hear the sirens, you weren’t crowded by people; everything up there was still and serene. It seemed to be a great escape to think and leave all of your problems on the ground for just a few moments.

Next, we visited Gold Coast and Old Town, and they encapsulated a lot of history. Every building in Gold Coast seemed to have its own story behind it and you could tell by the architecture. Every building was made with brick and the trims of the windows were old fashioned with a lot of detail. Despite it being antiquated, the buildings looked very taken care of and all around beautiful. Gold Coast was a calming stroll, and on the other hand, Old Town was lively. With a restaurant on every corner, you would never get bored there. Old town followed along with the old-fashioned architecture, yet it portrayed itself as more welcoming and entertaining. Gold Coast, although calming, definitely portrayed itself as a rich area with little to no people walking around on the streets, making it less inviting to outsiders. Both shared qualities that I love like the history, beautiful architecture, and nature surrounding the town, and I would return to these towns to further explore and understand their pasts.

Lastly we toured Pilsen and it was the most vibrant place we had been to. Every inch was painted with murals and art by local artists. It was incredible to see how differently each artist used their space and see the stories they told through their murals. Culture was alive through the art, but also through the food. Street venders were everywhere offering delicious Mexican cuisine. To me, Pilsen was the most welcoming place with the kindest people, and I can’t wait to visit it again.

Over this past week we traveled to a lot of destinations, each one unique and distinct from the last. It made me realize how large Chicago actually is and how much there is to explore. Seeing how everyone formed their own communities in this large city was fascinating. My fear turned into excitement, and even though it can be frightening, it is a challenge I am prepared to take on.

--

--