Dlosordo
walking chicago: history in footsteps
3 min readOct 5, 2022

--

  • Around 11 am I decided to head for my walk to find colors. This time I didn’t have any directions, so I just let the colors take me where I go. So, I walked out my hall and mostly I will take a left when I go out of my hall, but the colors told me to take a right. I felt like it would be pretty easy to find my colors because it was a red wine color and a blue. I was thinking this walk was going to be quick, but I was wrong. I headed down this little back road and what do you know. I find a moped bike with the seat the color of red wine. There was also another bike next to it that was close to my color red but just a bit off.
  • 11:17, I kept only walking down small back roads of Lincoln Park and was not finding anything. So, I followed my blue color, and I got out of the small backroads and ended up on a main street. Once I was on the main road I noticed the old car, I don’t know what brand it was but it was fenced in so I couldn’t get to it. But it was the same exact color as my color, so I snapped a picture and was on my way.
  • 11:32, I was walking around for a bit and didn’t find anything that interesting that matches up with my colors. I found some trash cans and a wall for the blue but nothing for the red. So, I decided to head back in the direction of my hall. While on my way back I see another car that perfectly matched my red wine color. I got a picture and headed home. I finished the walk at around 11:40.
  • What attitudes and beliefs have you inherited from your family or community regarding exploration, particularly when it comes to exploring (unknown) public spaces? How have these attitudes and beliefs influenced your walking and your experience in public spaces in Chicago? How might these attitudes and beliefs change over time? Draw on the readings to support your response.

Whenever my family and I would go off to a new public space our reactions and feelings tend to be the same. We have visited many public places over the years and saw many amazing cities, sights and all. I remember we went to Wynwood Miami and when we first got there our reaction was just us in ah. Wynwood is just a place filled with graffiti from the best artists around the world. After taking in the sight, we decided to talk about it and we always talk about our favorite thing from this new place. We tend to be filled with joy and always smiling when we are in a new space. We also walk around and shop for a bit trying to find something little that we can remember the place by. We always either get a little sculpture we can put on a table, or we get something over the top like a painting.

--

--