Brainstorming in the loop

Linnah Stevens
walking chicago: history in footsteps
3 min readOct 17, 2022

For this week’s walk, I decided to take the train downtown into the loop and brainstorm while I explored a different area than I usually do. Although I travel to the loop multiple times a week for class, and I am no stranger to going downtown for fun with my friends, I have yet to choose this area as a location for my weekly walking assignment. I got off the red line at Jackson, where I usually exit for class, and I began walking down S State Street. As I passed the business school and the DePaul center, I noticed many different cafes, stores, and restaurants that I never looked at before. Because I always come into the loop purely for the purpose of going to class, I haven’t let myself explore everything it has to offer. As I continued my walk, an outdoor seating area for a coffee shop caught my eye. It was a warm and welcoming space, decorated with cute lights and nice seating.

I ordered an iced latte and sat down for a few minutes to think about some ideas. I decided I could possibly write about how my pre-existing ideas about Chicago have changed since taking this course and really discovering the reality of the city. I think this class challenged any stereotypes I may have believed about Chicago and it helped me understand the many different communities. After my brainstorming session, I got up to keep going on my walk. Eventually I made my way to the riverwalk, hopped back on the train, and headed home to Lincoln Park.

Question + response from readings:

Question: Why might so many people be afraid to break from their segregated areas and explore unknown areas?

Response: I think there are many possible reasons as to why people do not want to venture out of the places they are comfortable in, but a large part of it has to do with the stereotypes and negative connotations we hold around the unknown. In Chicago for example, there are multiple different neighborhoods that everyone will tell you not to go to, and that certain areas are not safe. Often, these statements are only coming from a place of misinformation and bias. Furthermore, these beliefs and practices of not allowing oneself to experience different environments leads to further segregation of communities and upholds these ideas. I have also noticed how this type of situation happens in other places, one being where I am from, Detroit. When I tell people that I am from there I almost always receive a reaction that characterizes the city as bad, and unsafe, even if they have never even visited. This has to do with the fact that many people are too afraid to break from their beliefs and stereotypes about a place and venture into the unknown. (183)

--

--