How to Turn Trash to a Deep Story

Emileebiondi
walking chicago: history in footsteps
2 min readOct 25, 2022

Response.

How does having a better school district affect the community?

When having a school that has a good staff and well informed leaders it gives children the right sense of leadership and can give them a positive outlook on school. Chicago Public Schools have recently been doing well and have started to increase productivity and attendance since they have been better funded than in past years. It is important to look at the school district because these are where kids will go through their developmental stages and if they are not being taught in a safe and encouraging environment it can cause them to stray away from big dreams and aspirations. When looking at the maps on the Folded Map Projects- Interactive maps, it is obvious that schools that are rated top level are in more expensive areas because of tax money and this is slowly changing but will take time. Good communities start with children and should spend more money in schools rather than anything else.

During Discover Chicago I have noticed that I want to focus on how everyone is an individual being put into a huge pot of school students but also Lincoln park as a whole and it is up to you as an individual to find fun, community, and a sense of self.

On my walk I noticed so many people alone. It seems everyone at DePaul spends the majority of their days alone and focused on their school work from what I have seen. Students are independently walking to class with headphones on. Students eat alone. Lack of sense of community here, lots of students, small classes, on my walk I noticed classes being let out and no students communicating. Chicago is a city and DePaul is within it causing a grown up feel for every student. DePaul focuses on certain groups of people heavily. Many people who go here have a strong sense of style and are “city people” . I feel outcast and that I am more of a basic human. These people like to be alone and are happy with their coffee,

My picture is a picture of trash. I took this picture because It just caught my attention on the corner of Fullerton and Clifton, I saw it and it just made me think how no one is gonna pick it up unless it is our job or it inevitably blows away and finds a new home. It made me connect to my thoughts of transferring out of DePaul and how either i have to take initiative and go out and find my own fun and happiness or let myself blow away and find a new home in a different college.

--

--