Immersion Week Reflection

Linnah Stevens
walking chicago: history in footsteps
3 min readSep 7, 2022

Immersion Week Reflection

Before beginning my immersion week journey, my mind was running rampant with unanswered questions and curiosities about the city of Chicago. The new environment left me wondering with all its different possibilities and locations. With all 234.5 square miles of Chicago to explore, I could do anything. Throughout the course, I was able to acclimate myself to Chicago and learn the ins and outs of my surroundings. Many of my inquiries were solved by walking and each step led me to a new sight, sound, feeling, or physical experience. On Tuesday, our second day of immersion week, we ventured outside of Lincoln Park. Having only moved to campus a few days prior, Lincoln Park was the only neighborhood in Chicago I was familiar with when we began the day. As we boarded the red line train, I had no idea what to expect. The journey started downtown, at the John Hancock center, the skyscraper with clear windows and a view of the entire city proper.

As we observed the skyline,we could see the path that would be taken by our feet throughout the day. Continuing on, the group walked through the Gold Coast neighborhood of Chicago, which is also known as one of the richest neighborhoods in all of America. The overall ambience of this community was a stark difference from the rest of downtown. The streets were quiet, and lined with houses worth millions of dollars. It was easy to tell that the development of the infrastructure in this area was valued more than that of surrounding locations. We then followed our planned route through more parts of Chicago, passing through Old Town, Goose Island, and Wicker Park. It was easy to see the sign of increased gentrification and changing environments.

We learned about how rising house prices lead to lower income locals being pushed out of their native neighborhoods. While I have seen instances like this occur in my hometown area, it is interesting to see it consistently happening in cities and states throughout the country. To end our 10 mile trek on Tuesday, we walked to Humboldt park. As we went through this neighborhood I could sense many differences from that of areas like Lincoln Park and Gold Coast. Buildings and Roads were not as aesthetically “nice” as the previous ones, and it was louder, with more conversations and life to be heard. As this day came to an end, I realized I now had a completely new knowledge of the city. The vast differences between social classes and their corresponding communities was more apparent than ever. Before this experience, I walked for self benefiting purposes, such as to gain mental clarity or get good exercise. But now, I am able to recognize other aspects of walking that I didn’t previously notice. Walking is the best way to get to know a new city, and to understand the many communities that come with their own wins and losses.

--

--