Aidan Culver
walking chicago: history in footsteps
3 min readSep 7, 2022

--

DISCOVERING CHICAGO

It all started with an hour-long walk around Lincoln Park on my first day of class. We visited Oz Park and were immediately greeted with the nature side of Chicago. It was fascinating to see hundreds of trees and flowers preserved in one of the busiest cities in the world. There were many other walkers, joggers, bike riders, parents with kids, etc. Everyone seemed to have respect for the park and the collective intent to keep it healthy. This was the first time I sensed what a community was like in Chicago.

It became more obvious as the week progressed that community was an important part of the windy city. When visiting a neighborhood in Pulaski, I noticed the people inhabiting the neighborhood were middle class citizens. While working on a garden that was maintained for twenty years by Mini Smith, many people driving by in cars seemed to wave to her. I assume most people knew who she was from her gardening work. They must have respected her for going out of her way to do something good for the community. In a neighborhood on North Astor Street, most people weren’t walking around and greeting each other. The homes inhabiting the street were some of the most expensive homes in the country. The neighborhood also seemed safe and secluded even in a city like Chicago. Another neighborhood called Humboldt Park had inhabitants mostly from Puerto Rico. There were many murals on walls that represented the people’s proudness of their heritage. There were locally owned businesses on nearly every street, delicious food being prepared, and Puerto Rican flags scattered around the area.

Walking Chicago helped me notice many features about the city. I was able to note down my five senses for a water fountain I saw during one of my walks. I could hear the splashing sounds while watching the endless amount of water pouring from the top. I could feel the sprinkles of the cold water touching my exposed skin. In a strange way, I imagined the water tasting like a regular water fountain you would find in a school because of how clean and clear it looked. Finally, the water had a chlorine-like smell that was gentle on the nose.

I remember sketching the buildings I saw onto my notebook with a pencil. It was weird to try and match the details I saw on the buildings. You usually do not think much of the architectural design of something until you are forced to really analyze it. The highlight of walking Chicago was the trip to the Hancock building. Where I could see each aspect of what I learned such as the different neighborhoods, sights, sounds, etc. all in one space.

--

--