“The City is Nobody’s Enemy” -Kathleen Rooney

Carissa
walking chicago: history in footsteps
6 min readOct 26, 2022

“The city is dangerous and cannot be trusted is something you are told all the time because somebody benefits by having you think that” (Rooney). As a result of coming from the North suburbs of Chicago, the idea that ‘Chicago is dangerous’ is a phrase I have heard many times before. I would get scolded for going to the West Side, taking the ‘L’, and choosing to go to DePaul was almost too much for my family to handle. For example, when I told my father I wanted to attend DePaul, he chuckled and walked away. This was a similar reaction that other people from my town had, and were shocked when I told them that I was going to be living there instead of commuting. However, after visiting once, my dad soon realized that the image he had of DePaul in his mind was wrong, but he had to see it for himself to realize. I believe this ties into Leslie Cortez’s point where “most people from the North Side make assumptions about neighborhoods that they have never stepped foot in” (Johnson). Through Walking Chicago, I have learned the importance of experiencing places for yourself through walking, as the most impactful of completing this.

Through visiting diverse neighborhoods with various cultures, Immersion Week gave me a more holistic view of Chicago than I most likely had my entire life. Although I had been to some of the areas before by car or train, walking allowed myself to become truly immersed within them. When considering solely art, the works of art that I saw during Immersion Week were outstanding and inspiring. The use of public spaces as art was truly beautiful. The way in which an artist can transform a boring train station into a masterpiece is mind blowing. Another work of art that I was drawn to was the Puerto Rican flag sculpture that brings both sides of the street together. According to Block Club Chicago, these steel sculptures became an official Chicago landmark in July 2022. Seeing these huge statues welcoming people to Humboldt Park was breathtaking and up-lifting.

https://blockclubchicago.org/2022/07/21/humboldt-parks-puerto-rican-flags-are-officially-chicago-landmarks/

Another spot from Immersion Week in which the art has stuck with me is Pilsen. I was so grateful for the opportunity to go on the walking tour centered on art. One prominent artist of Pilsen, Hector Duarte’s art, was especially intriguing. His piece “Gulliver in Wonderland” which is displayed in front of his house “carries the strong Mexican muralist tradition that seeks to educate, inspire, and engage with the public” (Pupovac). Duarte shares with WTTW Chicago how he chooses “canvases that are deliberately accessible to all — including working-class people and those who might not typically visit galleries” (Pupovac).

Another spot I had been warned not to step foot in was Chinatown. However, I decided to go there recently with a few friends and had an amazing time. Not only was the food amazing, but I got to admire the beautiful architecture and art.

A reason for coming to DePaul, besides my love for Chicago, was the closeness to home. Despite living so close, I feel like a burden asking for a relative to endure the Kennedy Expressway’s traffic every time I need to come home for a doctor’s appointment, a job interview, or my grandma’s cooking. While the ‘L’ may seem like the obvious choice, most options require someone to pick me up 20 minutes away or take a ridiculous amount of time. However, I soon realized that there was a Metra stop relatively close to campus, yet my family did not like this option since it was in a ‘weird area.’ I decided that I should try this option for myself before I trust my family members who do not live in the city. While the walk was not as accessible to walkers as most streets are, I have decided to not fully rule this walk out. Through Walking Chicago, I have learned to not automatically judge streets or neighborhoods at first glance. I now view a street as accessible, if said street can serve as a path to allow me to move -even if it is slightly unconventional.

Growing up, I considered myself to be a more avid walker than most of my peers. Although, my walking mainly consisted of the walk from my house to my town’s ‘uptown’ area and back, purely for exercise. While it is hard not to notice your surroundings during a walk, this was never my main priority. In fact, I found comfort in seeing the same elements during my redundant walk. Therefore, learning how to immerse yourself within the walk and truly absorb the elements within the walk was an impactful experience which changed how I viewed walking. Through walking as my means of exploring new parts of Chicago, I have grown a more diverse understanding and elevated my appreciation of this city. However, I now recognize the segregation of the city and hope that at some point the stereotypes and assumptions about Chicago neighborhoods will be eliminated.

Projects like Tonika Johnson’s “Folded Map Project,” spread awareness of the discrepancies of the North and South sides of Chicago. Johnson published these ‘address pairs’ in order “reveal the inequity in a way that would be visually captivating for people to understand how Chicago’s legacy of segregation has impacted the neighborhoods” (Johnson). Through her maps of social characteristics, businesses, and schools, she demonstrates clear differences of accessibility within the various regions of Chicago.

When coming to DePaul, I thought I already knew Chicago, but I am now realizing that there is so much more to this city than I thought. Since Chicago is majorly a progressive city, I assumed that there would be less segregation and prejudice. Unfortunately, I now know that this is not necessarily the truth. However, I believe that with more exposure like the “Folded Map Project” and the article “When WestSider Told College Classmates Where She Was From” people from different parts of Chicago can begin to understand each other, recognize the inequity, and unite as patrons of Chicago. Above all, as author Kathleen Rooney declares, “the city is not your enemy. The city is nobody’s enemy. It is something that rewards respect and grace and careful attention” (Rooney). This idea is especially important as it relates to walking. As walkers, the city is here for us to utilize, yet we must treat the city with respect.

Works Cited

Johnson, Tonika. “When West Sider Told College Classmates Where She Was From, Everything Changed.” Block Club Chicago, June 20, 2021, blockclubchicago.org/2021/06/30/when-west-sider-told-college-classmates-where-she-was-from-everything-changed-i-was-categorized-as-hood/. Accessed October 25, 2022.

Johnson, Tonika. “Map Twins.” Folded Map Project. oldedmapproject.com/map-twins. Accessed October 25, 2022.

Pupovac, Jessica. “Hector Duarte.” WTTW Chicago. https://interactive.wttw.com/my-neighborhood/pilsen/hector-duarte. Accessed October 25, 2022.

Rooney, Kathleen. “It is Not Waste All This, Not Placed Here in Disgust, Street After Street.” Slag Glass City, vol. 8, December 2017, www.slagglasscity.org/essaymemoirlyric/walkers-in-the-city/waste-placed-disgust-street-street/. Accessed October 25, 2022.

--

--