The Suburbs are Familiar and Boring

Emileebiondi
walking chicago: history in footsteps
3 min readSep 13, 2022

Friday, September 9, 2022

What I noticed

1:23 pm

-suburb

-nice houses

-no noise

-families walking

-friendly faces

-lots of grass and trees along sidewalks

-similar looking houses

-hills and inclines

-no cars on the street

-smell of a barbeque

-sidewalks everywhere

-knew people that lived in the houses I was walking past

experiences

1:36 pm

Stopped and talked to new neighbors, have 3 children who I want to babysit, asked me where I was headed on my walk

1:23 pm

My dad was walking with me and I was telling him about the walks I was taking during my immersion week

1:24

On the start of my walk I ran into a golf ball on my front lawn, and my ex who played golf was hitting balls at my house so I had to text him after and ask why he was trying to break my windows

1:45

Walked past a park with children playing during school

On my walk for my souvenirs, I found…

1:24

On the start of my walk I ran into a golf ball on my front lawn, and my ex who played golf was hitting balls at my house so I had to text him after and ask why he was trying to break my windows

1:42

A penny which i always pick up because they are good luck

  • In “The Solitary Stroller and the City,” Rebecca Solnit writes, “Cities are forever spawning lists” (p. 202). Why do walking, lists, and cities seem to go together?

When Solnit writes that “Cities are forever spawning lists’ ‘, I believe it is drawing attention to the idea that lists’ and cities can be everchanging. When making a list you usually start with a question that can spawn a bunch of different answers. There are different viewpoints and angles that you can look upon a question where there is no end, or indefinite answer. Cities are like lists in the way that they start with a source for why all of the people gather to that specific area, which is usually a water source, and from there on there are endless opportunities and ideas that can come from that. Now relating that to walking, a walk starts with the idea of going on a walk and from there, there are infinite routes and paths that you can take while on your voyage. Cities, lists’, and walks can all be related by the endless amount of opportunities and ideas that occur within them.

(Word count 162)

--

--