Aidan Culver
walking chicago: history in footsteps
5 min readOct 5, 2022

--

This is a hand drawn map from my walk. I started from my dorm at Ozanam and found a red faded chalk drawing on the sidewalk on the way to Webster. After that I found a red cement bubble and a window with a dark green paper pressed against it from the other side of the glass. Later I cut through a small area called Clover Park and saw a construction site. There was a fence with a green tarp over it and then a red garage five houses down from it. The last thing I found was a green light post on the corner of the original Potbelly location. After I found all my items I went to Barnes & Noble to study and then walked back to Ozanam.

3:29 pm

My first stop was at Trebes Park where I found chalk drawing on the sidewalk. I assumed it was made by a little kid a day or two ago. The red line looked faded, which helped match the color of my paint chip. The ground is hard, rough, and rocky. It felt like if I scraped my hand against it I would scratch my hand.

3:32 pm

As I turned right on Webster I found this. I had to search up what it was called on the internet. It is called a cement bubble. They are used to act as a sort of internal moisture absorber for when water attempts to swell into the surrounding space in concrete. It looked old and I wouldn’t be shocked if it was there for at most a decade. It felt like plastic and slightly smoother than the concrete.

3:37

As I walked to this window I heard the sound of birds chirping. I looked up to find a flock flying in unison. If I was quick enough I would’ve gotten a picture. By the time I turned around I saw this window. Unfortunately, I can’t recall the building, but I was amazed with how well the two green colors matched. The green paper being pushed against the glass looked fresh and brand new.

3:41

I walked through Clover Park and saw a woman there with two large dogs. I wasn’t sure what brand they were but I thought the whole situation was funny since there was a sign that said “No Dogs Allowed”, which didn’t stop her. After I passed the park there was a construction site. They were building a new building between two existing ones. There was a fence with green tarp on it that happened to slightly match my color. It may have made a slight shade darker. The material was rough and was meant to protect civilians from dust or flying debris.

3:43

On my way down the street to Potbelly, I found this little garage that I couldn’t help but use. It was a shade darker than my paint chip, but I was fascinated how I didn’t recognise it the first time. The color makes it stand out from the other garages, which were white. I did not want to go up to feel the garage because I thought it would look suspicious for whoever owns it. At this point, I noticed all the leaves on the ground and the yellow-ish color they had. Just a subtle reminder that it is officially Fall.

3:46

I could not find anything else with the same shade of green that wasn’t either a tree or a bush. It felt that it was too easy so the last thing I found was a green light post. I believe the light post has been here for longer than a decade. The paint is all rusted and there is graffiti on the side. From here, I heard the sounds of cars driving by. A couple of them were honking which is something I’ve gotten used to now in Chicago.

Social capital is the number of relationships among people living in a society. The social work between individuals creates a functioning society. My community in Deerfield, Illinois, is a suburb of Chicago. The houses are spread out, and not many people walk to places as much as they would in a highly populated city. This leads to fewer social interactions, which create barriers in the community. In Chicago, more people actively interact because they are in tight spaces such as CTAs and Bus stations. It is easier to walk than drive in the city, which can lead to more social capitalism. To go out to dinner, I’m forced to meet people at the Student Center. I’ve met many friends this way by getting placed in the same line as them in the cafeteria. I now have a routine of eating dinner with people now because I was pushed into social situations.

--

--